Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-09, 07:40 AM   #13
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

What happens when you use Firefox or Chrome? You may have an IE add-on that's causing the problem. IE FTL.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-09, 08:03 AM   #14
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
What happens when you use Firefox or Chrome? You may have an IE add-on that's causing the problem. IE FTL.
Firefox doesn't work either

Also, Spybot gives me a clean bill of health and I still have the issue.
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-09, 10:33 AM   #15
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by milla View Post
OK, firstly, thank you all for your continuing support. I feel like I am getting somewhere with this.

I get an error from IE now when I lose my connection "winsock provider catalog". I'm looking into it and Hopefully this helps identify the issue. Thanks again guys.
This is a well documented problem, now try this:

netsh winsock reset catalog

Google is your friend
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-09, 12:27 PM   #16
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by lduguay View Post
This is a well documented problem, now try this:

netsh winsock reset catalog

Google is your friend
I found that command when I started googling the issue and it didn't help the problem.
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.