Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-09, 05:54 PM   #25
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
That's unpossible!!! PC Critics will have you think that you have to play PCs on a tiny monitor with a mouse and keyboard!

I'm quite excited about this one - though I can easily wait for PC (since I don't have a next-gen console, the option of a now purchase is moot anyway). Does anyone know if the PC version has a set date yet, or just sometime in September?
15th.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 06:22 PM   #26
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

I'm saving up money for PC version. I'm impressed with PhysX effects. I'm amazed how well PS3 version looks, it looks exactly same as 360 version but yeah they're missing several cool looking PhysX effects like breaking tiles, clothes, smokes, papers flowing, etc.

__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 06:39 PM   #27
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NaitoSan View Post
I'm saving up money for PC version. I'm impressed with PhysX effects. I'm amazed how well PS3 version looks, it looks exactly same as 360 version but yeah they're missing several cool looking PhysX effects like breaking tiles, clothes, smokes, papers flowing, etc.

See thats my point, for me that offers nothing to the game and I don't care if my version lacks it. I rather have extra levels and play the game now then get some extra graphics...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 06:48 PM   #28
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
See thats my point, for me that offers nothing to the game and I don't care if my version lacks it. I rather have extra levels and play the game now then get some extra graphics...
I guess you're the only one then.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 07:21 PM   #29
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
See thats my point, for me that offers nothing to the game and I don't care if my version lacks it. I rather have extra levels and play the game now then get some extra graphics...
For me it adds a bit to realism and atmosphere. Little details are nice and brings the game to life a bit more.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 07:50 PM   #30
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Wow this game is awesome. Im loving it! One of the best games I have played this year. Can't really find anything to complain about really. Only gripe is that Batmans acting seems kinda forced at times, while the Joker is spot on.

BTW This game is 100% comic, other then the voices the personality and background is taken from the comics. Its dark and brooding, I love it!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 08:10 PM   #31
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
See thats my point, for me that offers nothing to the game and I don't care if my version lacks it. I rather have extra levels and play the game now then get some extra graphics...
It's those effects mixed with the standard higher res and higher AA that make it better, along with just being on my platform of choice. The PS3 demo looked quite jaggy and low res.

And again, it's only three weeks.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-09, 11:39 PM   #32
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

I think I'm going to wait for computer on this one, love the physx, makes the atmosphere that much more!
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-26-09, 02:54 AM   #33
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

I love play-asia, its only $34.90 there.

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-...n-70-3jdl.html
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-09, 04:12 AM   #34
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

So PC doesn't have Joker levels?

I was gonna get PC, but extra content wins over Physx. Still the PC demo was really nice, better try PS3 demo too then and help me decide.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-09, 04:21 AM   #35
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

There aren't "Joker levels" on the PS3 version. You just get to play through the challenges AS the Joker instead of Batman. He has his own moves and gadgets, so it isn't just a reskin.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-09, 04:23 AM   #36
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Batman Arkham Asylum Official thread

and that's exclusive to PS3 version? Hmmm. I dunno. Will wait, no rush to get it right now anyway.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.