Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-09, 11:19 AM   #85
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Well that's what the guy in that last post of mine said Ghosthunter. I don't think anyone has a definate answer to it yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-09, 11:44 AM   #86
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

ok it has been a while...any official updates to this?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-09, 09:35 AM   #87
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

I don't know why you'd want to do an upgrade. Clean install, Windows 7 runs amazing.

Installed on all 4 machines here, wouldn't even think to try and upgrade Vista to 7. It wouldn't be fair to 7
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-09, 10:35 AM   #88
shteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 126
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
I don't know why you'd want to do an upgrade. Clean install, Windows 7 runs amazing.

Installed on all 4 machines here, wouldn't even think to try and upgrade Vista to 7. It wouldn't be fair to 7
I don't think anyone would. The issue here is that installing an upgrade version of Win7 may require a previous activated OS to be on the computer - so you'd be forced to perform an upgrade.
__________________
i920@3.3GHz, Corsair Hydro, Asus P6T Dlx V2, 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600, Xonar DX, Palit GTX670, Corsair 1000W, Dell 2407WFP,, LG1710B (secondary), Crucial M4 128GB, 5 1TB drives ..., Win7 HP
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-09, 10:38 AM   #89
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by shteve View Post
I don't think anyone would. The issue here is that installing an upgrade version of Win7 may require a previous activated OS to be on the computer - so you'd be forced to perform an upgrade.
Gotcha.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-09, 03:05 PM   #90
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

At first, this seemed simple enough, but the more that I read, the more confused that I get. This page was linked in a MS newletter that I just received:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...?ITPID=insider

Maybe I'm misreading, but it sounds as though the only way to upgrade is if you have Vista, and I don't. Will this upgrade MCE, XP x64 or WS2K8 or not? If not, then I need to cancel my preordered upgrade now.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-09, 05:29 PM   #91
Rakeesh
 
Rakeesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 6,870
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

I don't see why you couldn't just download and burn any old version of windows to a DVD and when the windows 7 install asks for that, just put that in. Windows cd's and dvd's don't contain any sort of odd copy protection mechanism pressed into the discs, so I don't see how the installation software would know the difference between a pressed copy and a burned one. So long as your key to your original copy is legit, I don't see where there would be a problem.
Rakeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 08:35 AM   #92
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

out of curiosity did they ever announce OEM pricing for Windows 7?

i have been searching technet forums and there are still no official announces and things are not looking good
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-03-09, 09:15 AM   #93
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaWolf_HK View Post
I don't see why you couldn't just download and burn any old version of windows to a DVD and when the windows 7 install asks for that, just put that in. Windows cd's and dvd's don't contain any sort of odd copy protection mechanism pressed into the discs, so I don't see how the installation software would know the difference between a pressed copy and a burned one. So long as your key to your original copy is legit, I don't see where there would be a problem.

So you are saying I can use any copy of Windows 7 as long as I have a legit key? I mean i have access to All of technet here at work
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 03:56 PM   #94
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

I just got off the phone with the MS Store, and they confirmed that I could use my XP CD to validate W7's upgrade. That is good, but they sure need to learn how to make themselves more clear in the newsletters and articles.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.