Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-03-09, 12:19 AM   #1
asntitys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

My Q9650 is at stock 3.0ghz speed and I am wondering if this processor should bottleneck my new video card? What do you guys think? Thanks!
asntitys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 12:22 AM   #2
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

don't think so whats your FSB?
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 12:29 AM   #3
asntitys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATi View Post
don't think so whats your FSB?
1333mghz
asntitys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 12:33 AM   #4
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

Quote:
Originally Posted by asntitys View Post
1333mghz
its ok I guess I needed to bump my FSB to 1600 and got a huge performance boost but I think it was because I have a SLi card
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 12:37 AM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

you should be fine.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-09, 10:59 AM   #6
Thunderbolt56
Gladiusdoctori
 
Thunderbolt56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 198
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

Will totally depend on the title and/or application. The 275 is a decent balanced GPU for the Q9650 IMO.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz w/ Thermalright TRUE copper and dual 120mm fans | P6T Deluxe V2 | 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600mhz @ 1523mhz | WD VRaptor 300GB | Seagate 500GB 32mb cache | X-Fi-Titanium Fatal1ty Champion | XFX GTX285 Black Edition 1GB | CoolerMaster Stacker 830 silver | Dell 2707WFP 27" | Windows Vista HP x64 sp2
Thunderbolt56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-09, 08:58 PM   #7
asntitys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

I don't think I worded it correctly. What I meant was if my Q9650 at stock speed will be a bottleneck for my GPU. So I shouldn't have to overclock my cpu to have my GTX 275 run at its prime? Thanks for the replies.
asntitys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-09, 09:15 PM   #8
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

good question. I was actually wondering how much of a jump in games i would see going from stock to say 3.6
Gaming is pretty much by far the most damanding thing i run on my computer.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-06-09, 11:04 PM   #9
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

Quote:
Originally Posted by asntitys View Post
I don't think I worded it correctly. What I meant was if my Q9650 at stock speed will be a bottleneck for my GPU. So I shouldn't have to overclock my cpu to have my GTX 275 run at its prime? Thanks for the replies.
Partly depends on the resolution of your monitor. If you're not running at 1920x1080 or 1920x1200 it could be a close call in Crysis. At 1920x1080 and up or in pretty much any other game than that game, you're not likely to run into anything noticeable.

One way to check is to fire up fraps and check the frames per second on a game with all the game settings at stock, no AA no AF. Exit the game and turn up the AA and AF and then go back and check the FPS again. As you turn the AA and AF up if the frames per second don't drop at all or they drop very little, your CPU is likely a bottle neck. I would recommend trying this on a game other than Crysis though.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-09, 03:20 AM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

More CPU speed is always better.

If you're even considering overclocking, just do it.

There aren't really any down sides other than having to spend money on a better cooler.

Overclocking your CPU is incredibly useful in the rare situations where a game is extremely CPU heavy. You can always turn down graphics settings to reduce graphics load but few games give you any options to reduce CPU load. The more speed you have, the less likely you are to get frame rate drops when things get heavy (tons of AI, physics or geometry).

Also, when it comes one component blottlenecking another, there may be a general "sweet spot" with roughly balanced components but a CPU will always bottleneck a GPU in some situations and vice versa. It may be at 20fps or at 200fps. What's important is keeping your frame rates at a good level in the most situations possible.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-09, 01:57 PM   #11
asntitys
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

Thanks for the replies. I am going to overclock my cpu.
asntitys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-09, 07:35 PM   #12
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Will my Q9650 bottleneck my new EVGA GTX 275?

It's a solid chip, you should be fine. But as always, it depends on the title.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.