Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-09, 02:06 AM   #13
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

The last resident evil that I played was the original RE demo back in like 1997.

If the controls are decent and I don't have to try to shoot things while the camera is looking at my own character's face then I may have to give this a try.

The graphics definitely look nice.

How does it run?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 02:24 AM   #14
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Runs at a solid 60fps on max settings... perfect.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 02:57 AM   #15
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
So am I insane or is this one of the most amazing looking games ever? I seriously think it is near-Crysis quality.

The controls are a God-send... still more cumbersome than they should be considering the action pace, but I can strafe? I can access equipment extremely fast? Hotkeys for healing? My God, I might finish this game, I could never finish RE4.

One pic, cause that's all I took...

I have finished RE4 on a keyboard without any problems
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:03 AM   #16
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

I've never played a resident evil game

avoided RE4 like the plague because no mouse support (don't care what you say) but this one has good mouse support so WOOT.

not released yet until 18th here...tick tock. Is that a donkey cut open?
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:40 AM   #17
Hercules
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 306
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Graphics are very good, but the use of specific filters and colour palette disguises the low texture of the scenarios.
Its beautiful but not Crysis beautiful.
For those that never played a RE game its going to be tricky to get used to the controls. I for one have no issues with it but the game is just to straight forward and very similar to RE4, wich was a great game when it came out....years ago.

So i guess Capcom is playing for the safe side keeping RE bounded to things they know work, but managed to make a very decent and optimised experience for the PC, realising it from the port-syndrome.
Hercules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 05:26 AM   #18
omzig
Comfortably Numb
 
omzig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 752
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Wow the matrix filter really kills the rich colour pallet of the artwork i think it looks much better without thanks to ENB




btw These compare shots are not mine im rigless atm,my bro-in-law sent me them this morning after i told him to check the ENB mod out for RE5 late last night,seems he'ed played it non stop for most of the night without ENB and has now decided to restart it in (how he put it) full colour as default almost looks like B&W hehe

Laters
Gizmo
omzig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 05:37 AM   #19
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Wow, huge difference.

I think I will play it through as intended first, though.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 06:23 AM   #20
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

is ENB only for Dx9?just put "enbseries" and "d3d9.dll" here? C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\resident evil 5
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-16-09, 07:28 AM   #21
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiCZoK4 View Post
I have finished RE4 on a keyboard without any problems
yea i finished it as well, tho took me awhile for those press button x or u die part...since the buttons were still controller buttons and not the keyboard lol..
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 07:55 AM   #22
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

You can mod RE4 to display either keys, if using the mouse mod, or Xbox controller buttons.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 09:01 AM   #23
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Wow, this game is very entertaining! I'm not sure about solo... I soloed it up to the blond chick before restarting with a friend and the coop playthrough was a much improved experience. I may reserve this one to coop only. I was Sheva for the coop, though, and I think I prefer her side to Chris'

The inventory caught me off guard, though. I kept reading that it was 'optimised' for PC, but other than mouse use how is it? Looking at its setup I figured I could easily use the numpad for the buttons that correspond, but I guess I still have to remap each one?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 12:19 PM   #24
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Resident Evil 5 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
Wow, this game is very entertaining! I'm not sure about solo... I soloed it up to the blond chick before restarting with a friend and the coop playthrough was a much improved experience. I may reserve this one to coop only. I was Sheva for the coop, though, and I think I prefer her side to Chris'

The inventory caught me off guard, though. I kept reading that it was 'optimised' for PC, but other than mouse use how is it? Looking at its setup I figured I could easily use the numpad for the buttons that correspond, but I guess I still have to remap each one?
I didnt think this one had Co-OP on the PC? Has anyone actually played Co-op yet?? How is it?
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.