Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-09, 07:46 AM   #37
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
Avira updates really slowly for me, I have the pop-up disabled.
Some days it is excruitiatingly slow for me too and others it is quicker than Rosie Odonnell choking down a double double cheeseburger with everything and a 3x Large size order of french fries, a 78 oz chocolate shake and 3 apple pies (not turnovers but actual pies) for dessert.
Disabling the pop up had no effect, it has always been like this for me even before the pop up was disabled.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 07:57 AM   #38
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
Disabling the pop up had no effect, it has always been like this for me even before the pop up was disabled.
I thunk as much.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-09, 07:40 PM   #39
shilk
Registered User
 
shilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 913
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
You can enable the popup blocker in IE too.

*runs away*
Ahahaha.
shilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-09, 10:10 AM   #40
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

I can't believe you guys like this av suite. I got false positives every week and its just overall annoying. Not to mention at the time I had it installed I updated and it fooked up HL2 online, so away it went.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-09, 09:26 PM   #41
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

I've used it for a few years and have gotten less than 5 false positives in that time, never had a virus infect my computer and it has never caused problems with any programs except when the popup would come up and minimize a game but it is now fixed. I like it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-09, 11:28 AM   #42
josiahsuarez
Registered User
 
josiahsuarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 739
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

sometimes Avira identifies Daikatana as a virus

seriously
josiahsuarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-09, 01:55 PM   #43
shilk
Registered User
 
shilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 913
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

LOL! What?!

Screens or it didn't happen.
shilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-09, 02:07 PM   #44
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Yeah when the virus is identified it shows up as U.R.Romeros.BITCH in Avira.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-09-09, 03:04 AM
ranson
This message has been deleted by CaptNKILL.
Old 09-09-09, 03:32 AM
supra
This message has been deleted by CaptNKILL.
Old 09-14-09, 11:49 PM   #45
crazyfrogy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

popup is very annoying, that is why i dont use it
crazyfrogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-09, 11:57 PM   #46
supra
2JZ powered
 
supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Aus
Posts: 1,321
Send a message via MSN to supra
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyfrogy View Post
popup is very annoying, that is why i dont use it
have u tried disabling it?
__________________
supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 03:41 PM   #47
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Avira Antivirus

Tried it out instead of Avast, not really liking it so far.
There is the nag screen, which I see here can be cicumvented, but thats prolly all kinds of illegal.
Then there is this updater, I dunno what its doing but it failed once and now its running sub 0.1kb/sec, time elapsed 40 mins, remaning 20 mins..
dude?

Dunno, sofar it has shown a few kinks and oddities.
Avast was smooth sailing for years, prolly gonna go back to that.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.