Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-09, 11:28 PM   #1
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default GPU scaling broken when monitor has scaling?

The version of drivers I am using:

NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module 185.18.31 Tue Jul 28 17:52:27 PDT 2009

Basically my problems is that even though in my xorg.conf I have:

Option "FlatPanelProperties" "DFP-0: Scaling = aspect-scaled, Dithering = Enabled"

I am trying to run X at a non-native resolution of my display (2880x1800) and I am getting the image centered on the monitor instead of being scalled to full screen.

This same driver version is working fine on my other system which has a monitor with no scaling (running resolutions below the native scale just fine).

Here is an X with -logverbose 6 xorg.log:

http://box.houkouonchi.jp/broken_scaling.log

Any ideas on how to fix this?
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 11:30 PM   #2
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: GPU scaling broken when monitor has scaling?

Actually I just think I found the problem. It seems like the driver doesn't want to scale at that resolution:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.
(II) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "2880x1800":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 2880 x 1800 @ 25 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: X Configuration file ModeLine
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 165.00 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 2880, 2960
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 3248, 3616
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 1800, 1801
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1804, 1818
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/+
(II) NVIDIA(0): BestFit Backend for "2880x1800": 3840x2400
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to configure scaling from 2880x1800 to 3840x2400
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): (line width 2880 exceeds filtering capabilities)
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to configure scaling from 2880x1800 to 3840x2400
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): (line width 2880 exceeds filtering capabilities)
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to configure scaling from 2880x1800 to 3840x2400
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): (line width 2880 exceeds filtering capabilities)
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to configure scaling from 2880x1800 to 3840x2400
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): (line width 2880 exceeds filtering capabilities)

Do you know why this is? I have successfully scaled at this resolution on windows before on an old 6600 gt AGP. What is the maximum width for filtering capabilities?
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-09, 04:16 AM   #3
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: GPU scaling broken when monitor has scaling?

In order to bypass this limit could I instead do the scaling over both ports on the GPU?

Basically have each port running a back-end of 1920x2400 on each port which is scaling 1440x1800 to 1920x2400 on each port? Anyone have any ideas how I could get this behavior through the nvidia drivers without going to the extreme of dumping the EDID info from the monitor with the timings and manually removing the 3840x2400 mode so it thinks the monitors max resolution is 1920x2400 and automatically scales the backend to that?

Is there anyway to specify what back-end resolution to use when doing scaling?
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-09, 10:39 AM   #4
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: GPU scaling broken when monitor has scaling?

Ok, so I decided to basically scale 2880x1800 over two DVI inputs as the monitor can take up to four to get around the previous issue. This is actually better as it gives me a higher refresh rate. To do this I made a custom edid file using a dump and phoenix edid editor and sucessfully made a file with the 3840x2400 resolution taken out so it will scale 1440x1800 to 1920x2400 which I can then do over both inputs to get 2880x1800

There is only one problem... The damn nvidia driver is only accepting a customedid file for one monitor. In my xorg.conf I have:

Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0,DFP-1"
Option "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/1920x2400.bin"
Option "CustomEDID" "DFP-1:/etc/X11/1920x2400-2.bin"
Option "FlatPanelProperties" "DFP-0: Scaling = aspect-scaled, Dithering = Enabled"
Option "FlatPanelProperties" "DFP-1: Scaling = aspect-scaled, Dithering = Enabled"

The only reason these are pointing too a different file is the fact that I thought maybe it just didn't like pointing to the same file. The result is half of the monitor is as expected and the second half is trying to scale 1440x1800 to 3840x2400 instead of to 1920x2400 because my second custom EDID line is being ignored. I can verify this as the logverbose 6 log:

http://box.houkouonchi.jp/borked_customedid.txt

Only shows one:

(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0, DFP-1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "TwinView"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "MetaModes" "1440x1800,1440x1800"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "CustomEDID" "DFP-0:/etc/X11/1920x2400.bin"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "Coolbits" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "DPI" "75 x 75"


EDIT:

Just so you can see the problem is in the log file:

II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Devices: DFP-0, DFP-1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using MetaMode string: "1440x1800,1440x1800"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Requested modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1440x1800,1440x1800"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Valid viewports for MetaMode "1440x1800,1440x1800"
(II) NVIDIA(0): on ViewSonic (DFP-0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): BestFit Centered 1440x1800
(II) NVIDIA(0): Horizontal Taps 0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Vertical Taps 0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base SuperSample 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): Distributed Rendering 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Overlay Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): BestFit Scaled 1920x2400
(II) NVIDIA(0): Horizontal Taps 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Vertical Taps 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base SuperSample 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): Distributed Rendering 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Overlay Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): on ViewSonic (DFP-1):
(II) NVIDIA(0): BestFit Centered 1440x1800
(II) NVIDIA(0): Horizontal Taps 0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Vertical Taps 0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base SuperSample 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): Distributed Rendering 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Overlay Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): BestFit Scaled 3840x2400
(II) NVIDIA(0): Horizontal Taps 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Vertical Taps 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base SuperSample 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): Distributed Rendering 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Overlay Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): BestFit AspectScaled 1920x2400
(II) NVIDIA(0): Horizontal Taps 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Vertical Taps 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base SuperSample 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Base Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): Distributed Rendering 1
(II) NVIDIA(0): Overlay Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): MetaMode "1440x1800,1440x1800":
(II) NVIDIA(0): Bounding Box: [0, 0, 2880, 1800]
(II) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-0): "1440x1800"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Size : 1440 x 1800
(II) NVIDIA(0): Offset : +0 +0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Panning Domain: @ 1440 x 1800
(II) NVIDIA(0): Position : [0, 0, 1440, 1800]
(II) NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-1): "1440x1800"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Size : 1440 x 1800
(II) NVIDIA(0): Offset : +1440 +0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Panning Domain: @ 1440 x 1800
(II) NVIDIA(0): Position : [1440, 0, 2880, 1800]
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 2880 x 1800
(**) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (75, 75); computed from "DPI" X config option
(==) NVIDIA(0): Disabling 32-bit ARGB GLX visuals.

The bolded part is where the problem is due to both custom EDID paramters being used. It always just uses one even when I tried putting each parameter in a different section (one in device, one in screen).

So how can I use custom EDID files for both monitor ports??? Help please nvidia guru's!

Last edited by Xevious; 09-17-09 at 11:06 AM. Reason: addition
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-09, 12:55 PM   #5
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: GPU scaling broken when monitor has scaling?

The proper syntax for CustomEDID is documented in the README.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-09, 11:26 PM   #6
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: GPU scaling broken when monitor has scaling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP View Post
The proper syntax for CustomEDID is documented in the README.
D'oh! Of course I tried a bunch of things, including a comma/space separated but of course I didn't try it semicolon separated. All working now!
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.