Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-09, 08:36 AM   #1
AMIGrAve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default How to configure twinview from command line

I searched a lot about this and couldn't find a solution.

Is it possible to configure twinview on the fly using command line ?

Eg:

When I switch my monitors using nvidia-settings, I see this in Xorg log :

(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode
(II) NVIDIA(0): "DFP-0:NULL,DFP-1:nvidia-auto-select@1920x1200+0+0"

Can I use this information to do the same behaviour using command line ?
AMIGrAve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-09, 08:38 AM   #2
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: How to configure twinview from command line

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGrAve View Post
I searched a lot about this and couldn't find a solution.

Is it possible to configure twinview on the fly using command line ?

Eg:

When I switch my monitors using nvidia-settings, I see this in Xorg log :

(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode
(II) NVIDIA(0): "DFP-0:NULL,DFP-1:nvidia-auto-select@1920x1200+0+0"

Can I use this information to do the same behaviour using command line ?
man nvidia-settings
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-09, 08:58 AM   #3
AMIGrAve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to configure twinview from command line

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanjo View Post
man nvidia-settings
Before googling I first read the nvidia-settings man page, and call me dumb if you want, I didn't found how to do what I want. I tried to query attributes and assign some value but I don't get it.

Could someone help me a bit on this one, please ?
AMIGrAve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-09, 12:08 PM   #4
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: How to configure twinview from command line

You cannot do this with nvidia-settings. There are a couple of tools in the nvidia-settings source package that are designed to demonstrate the NV-CONTROL programming interface that you could use, but they're pretty rough around the edges.

Somebody was working on a tool called "disper" that is a more featureful command line tool for manipulating TwinView metamodes. You could give that a try.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-09, 01:01 PM   #5
AMIGrAve
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to configure twinview from command line

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP View Post
Somebody was working on a tool called "disper" that is a more featureful command line tool for manipulating TwinView metamodes. You could give that a try.
Thanks Aaron !

And also thanks for your team's work on the nVidia drivers !
AMIGrAve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.