Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-09, 08:29 AM   #1
CyberZeus1977
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default SLI & TwinView

Hi,
my system is equipped with two nVidia Geforce 8600 GTS cards.
I installed Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit. I downloaded and installed nVidia Linux driver version 185.18.36.
After installing the driver, gdm fails to start. So I used
Code:
lspci|grep VGA
to discover my cards. They are in position PCI n 4 and 5.
I had to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf in Device section and add
Code:
BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
to tell the driver which card to start from. (I tried "4:0:0" with no success).
I also enabled sli functionality adding
Code:
Option "SLI" "Auto"
in xorg.conf.
Everything works, but not TwinView (I have two monitors, connected and the same card).
The TwinView option in greyed in nvidia-settings applet.
If I comment the Option "SLI" "Auto" lines, TwinView option is selectable.
Have you a suggestion or trick to have both enabled SLI and TwinView?

Thanks
CyberZeus1977
CyberZeus1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 09:55 AM   #2
thefirstm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Default Re: SLI & TwinView

TwinView does not work at the same time as SLI.
thefirstm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-09, 10:48 AM   #3
CyberZeus1977
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: SLI & TwinView

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefirstm View Post
TwinView does not work at the same time as SLI.
Really? In Vista x64 it does...
I have to wait some nVidia Linux driver improvements?

Thanks for your reply!
CyberZeus1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 09:27 AM   #4
AireTamStrm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Default Re: SLI & TwinView

In 190.xx, when I enable SLI, the driver seems to allow it, but nvidia-settings does not have an option for it.
One screen comes up, however the mouse pointer can travel off screen quite some distance, and windows spawn off screen to where my other monitor should be.
AireTamStrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.