Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-09, 05:48 PM   #193
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
sillyeagle, it's not worth spending money on peripherals for this game. A G25, G27 or a Fanatec GT3 RS with the Clubsport Pedals are all great kits but you'd have to race more serious games/sims than Shi(f)t.
Ok, good advice.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-09, 05:53 PM   #194
MaXThReAT
Registered User
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyeagle View Post
What are you guys using for input? I've been playing the demo with a twist grip joystick for steering, up/down arrow for gas/break, and trigger for shifting. I checked best buy and the G25 is $240, so quite spendy. Can anybody comment on joystick vs wheel for input?
I used to use a joystick with superbike racing games. Gives a good feel of leaning but for car racing game I would say nothing but a wheel. It's like any new accessory, it will breath new life in to so many driving games. Like slaWter said don't get it just for this game it's probably not worth it but get it for rFactor and LFS and TDU and GTR2 and DiRT1&2. Totally worth it in the long run just don't get something cheap, I hear the Fanatec is sweet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
sillyeagle, it's not worth spending money on peripherals for this game. A G25, G27 or a Fanatec GT3 RS with the Clubsport Pedals are all great kits but you'd have to race more serious games/sims than Shi(f)t.
How is the new wheel? Allot better than the G25?
__________________
Gigabyte V1.1 EP45-UD3R F5
GO-Q6600@3.6GHz 1/2" D5/GTZ Block W/BIX-II Dual 120mm
Corsair 4GB Dominator DDR2-8500 5-5-5-15 2t@1066GHz
Evga 280 GTX 621/1349/2268
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!

"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-09, 06:18 PM   #195
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Xbox 360 controller works great! Never had luck with Steering wheels and pedals, always had problems controlling the cars in games with them.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-09, 10:42 PM   #196
MowTin
 
MowTin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

I guess I was wrong about this game. I never tried just mashing the gas on corner exit. I'm getting almost no oversteer. It's just totally ridiculous.

Too bad because FFB and tire model feel great. But like this it's not a sim.

I hope they patch pro mode and fix some of the bugs.

I read on the EA forum that it's actually a sim engine but some issue with shared car settings file is causing the bouncing.

I guess I'll just have to wait for GT5 in the mean time I'll keep playing DiRt.

The dream of a sim with great graphics on the PC is still not a reality.
__________________
i7 920 @ 3.6Ghz | 480 GTX | 3x2GB OCZ Gold | x58 3SLI | X-Fi Extreme Gamer | Samsung 226BW | Samsung 4665F LCD HDTV | Kenwood 500W receiver

PS3 | Xbox 360
MowTin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 02:49 AM   #197
DoomUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to DoomUK
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Getting some abysmal framerate on my rig.

1280*1024, no AA, no AF, everything else turned down to low/off. Average of 30 FPS.

Now I know my CPU has been around the block a few times. But, with the exception of Crysis on high settings, ever other game in my library runs pretty flawlessly - including GRID.

Something is clearly amiss.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo | Asus A8N-SLI SE | 2GB Kingston HyperX DDR400 | Leadtek 8800GT ZL 512MB | Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat' | Creative Inspire 6.1 | 200GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 500GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 180GB Hitachi Deskstar PATA | 19" AG Neovo F-419 | OCZ PowerStream 600W | WinXP Home SP3 | WinVista Ultimate x86 SP1
DoomUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 04:32 AM   #198
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

I don't know anything about AMD, but your GPU is kind of old as well.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 06:32 AM   #199
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Yup. CPU and GPU. Too old. Too old to play NFS Shift.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 09:21 AM   #200
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Yup. CPU and GPU. Too old. Too old to play NFS Shift.
ive read a few times that people with 8800's are running it fine, but you guys are half right its his cpu holding him back! big bottle neck for a cpu hungry game.
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-09, 01:30 PM   #201
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Oh my, I'm enjoying the game! Add me up (how?) Retrolock's my ingame name also. I bought this game and I used the EA Downloader. Runs great on my rig, constant 60 fps
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 03:31 PM   #202
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

I played the demo and had a couple questions: How is the audio? I found that there was no sound with some cars/tracks when hitting other cars, I assume this was just because the demo was old?

Also, are there any sensitivity settings with the steering? I didn't see any options in the demo, but the steering was a little bit loose for me and I'd like to make it a bit more sensitive.

Wish this was available via another method other than EA Downloader. Does the EA Downloader have to be running to play the game? I think I can find this retail, though... better chance with an EA game than Wolf hopefully.
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-09, 11:51 PM   #203
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
Wish this was available via another method other than EA Downloader. Does the EA Downloader have to be running to play the game? I think I can find this retail, though... better chance with an EA game than Wolf hopefully.
It's on Direct2Drive, if you can stand shopping there.

Wal-Mart has it near me... only has a disc check.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 12:15 AM   #204
MowTin
 
MowTin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: Official Need For Speed Shift thread

Check this vid out...looks great...sounds fantastic.

__________________
i7 920 @ 3.6Ghz | 480 GTX | 3x2GB OCZ Gold | x58 3SLI | X-Fi Extreme Gamer | Samsung 226BW | Samsung 4665F LCD HDTV | Kenwood 500W receiver

PS3 | Xbox 360
MowTin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.