Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-09, 09:48 AM   #1
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default A question for Steam Users

When you installed Batman: Arkham Asylum, did it appear in your Game Explorer folder? Mine didn't.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 09:49 AM   #2
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Right click on it and see if theres an option to add to games explorer, Crysis has one...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 09:57 AM   #3
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Right click on it and see if theres an option to add to games explorer, Crysis has one...
Right click on what? The game app or the shortcut in Steam?
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 10:00 AM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
Right click on what? The game app or the shortcut in Steam?
The Steam listing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 12:52 PM   #5
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Right click on it and see if theres an option to add to games explorer, Crysis has one...
Is there an option to do that? Man do I suck I usually just create a desktop icon, slap it in Games Explorer, and then delete the icon.

I'm going to check this when I get home!
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 01:21 PM   #6
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Dawn of War 2 has it also, the option to add it to the Games Explorer, others don't.
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 04:14 PM   #7
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

I gave up on the new 7 Games explorer and just use Steam. I get a nice overlay for all games.

Unless... If there a way to game a non Steam game to Steam, then make a shortcut to launch the non Steam game through Steam from the Games Explorer?

swift replies please.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 04:23 PM   #8
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

I just use a normal folder with all the shortcuts... game explorer is annoying and lacks real customization.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-25-09, 06:06 PM   #9
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Unless... If there a way to game a non Steam game to Steam, then make a shortcut to launch the non Steam game through Steam from the Games Explorer?

swift replies please.
Yes, I do this all the time... add your non-Steam game to Steam, then right click it and make a shortcut to the desktop, then place your shortcut wherever you want it (including the Games Explorer). If you add it to the Games Explorer, you can delete the original shortcut from your desktop.

I like the Steam overlay so I can chat or have friends snag me if I'm in a game, but I still prefer to launch them from the Games Explorer than Steam itself.
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-09, 06:25 AM   #10
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
I just use a normal folder with all the shortcuts... game explorer is annoying and lacks real customization.
Same here, I've never like the game explorer since I found out what a hassle it is to add boxart to a shortcut that didn't show it. MS could have made that a lot easier.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-09, 08:10 AM   #11
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: A question for Steam Users

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
Yes, I do this all the time... add your non-Steam game to Steam, then right click it and make a shortcut to the desktop, then place your shortcut wherever you want it (including the Games Explorer). If you add it to the Games Explorer, you can delete the original shortcut from your desktop.

I like the Steam overlay so I can chat or have friends snag me if I'm in a game, but I still prefer to launch them from the Games Explorer than Steam itself.
Ha! I guess I didn't think it would work as it's too easy. Thanks my man. Exactly what I wanted. Only bummer is I have to manually locate the icon in the games exe. When Steam creates the Icon it tries to assign some non existent icon...
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.