Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-03, 08:29 PM   #13
mrsabidji
I am the cheese...
 
mrsabidji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to mrsabidji
Default

Like others said, you could give Win2k a try... it's not that different from XP (win2k=NT5.0;XP=NT5.1). The only real difference I noticed when upgrading from 2k to xp was I could then play games without having to mess around for hours with configuration files.

mrsabidji

PS : I was thinking, you could also try installing NT4.0 instead. I think it would run just fine on your P150MMX.

PPS : or Novell Netware...
No, seriously, you should try either 2k or NT4

Last edited by mrsabidji; 09-18-03 at 08:37 PM.
mrsabidji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-03, 01:43 PM   #14
B&R
MX 700
 
B&R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pafet
maybe i'll find another old computer that isn't that old... I guess XP isn't an option

hmm yeah win2k or win98SE.
B&R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-03, 11:37 AM   #15
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

I hear all the time XP likes ram, and Im not saying it doesnt, but I was really suprised when I installed XP on the wifes old pc which was;

Celeron 433
64mb sdram
TNT
7.5Gb HDD

It did run fine, I ended up unistalling it due to the games she wanted to play, but it ran fine on that system.

One thing to keep in mind is that XP needs about 1Gb of HDD just for the install.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-03, 07:20 PM   #16
B&R
MX 700
 
B&R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 461
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smokey
I hear all the time XP likes ram, and Im not saying it doesnt, but I was really suprised when I installed XP on the wifes old pc which was;

Celeron 433
64mb sdram
TNT
7.5Gb HDD
WOW!! yeah it might jus barely work but when you use more than one application.. thats when it starts giving problems.
B&R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-03, 07:51 PM   #17
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Hah, wifes pc was playing up, tried many things, ended up building another pc up just for the moment.

PII 233@300
256mb ram
Matrox G100 4mb
3Com NIC (ISA)
7GB and 25GB HDD

Ive installed XP without any problems, its not even slow booting thought I would have probs maybe with the ISA NIC, but is working fine.

This is just tying her over, I think her other motherboard is faulty maybe.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-03, 12:51 AM   #18
Shion Uzuki
Engineer-in-training
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: University of Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 35
Default

I have my network machine running this:

Pentium 2 350MHz
Asus P2B
192MB PC100 SDRAM
Wireless NIC (USB)
5GB HDD
Matrox Millennium G550
AOpen AW840 sound
Hooked to 27" TV

Excellent system. Handles basic networking tasks quite well. Starts very fast, and loads apps reasonably fast. Only thing I wish is to get a good monitor to enjoy the Matrox 2D goodness. Problem with Marox G-series is they don't display anything on TV if you are not in Windows (i.e. DOS)

So never bothered to install FreeBSD/Linux OS because I doubt they will display anything

Ok, off topic

I'd go for a 5GB+ HDD for XP. I won't worry about the CPU. If you have neither +64MB or a spare HDD, I won't bother installing XP on that machine.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice
DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D
OCZ 1GB DDR400
Enermax NoiseTaker 485W w/PPFC
CoolerMaster Cavalier 1 (dB meter, CCFL etc...)
Seagate 200GB w/NCQ
Pioneer DVR-109 DVD+/-RW DL
XFX GeForce 6600GT PCIe
Shion Uzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia GT640 pics, specs and launch info News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 02:10 PM
Epic Games on next gen console specs Logical Console World 5 05-24-12 05:17 PM
GeForce GTX 670 specs DSC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 20 05-11-12 04:25 AM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 10:17 AM
Detailed NV30 specs at AnandTech JohnsonLKD Rumor Mill 3 08-21-02 03:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.