Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-09, 02:24 PM   #1
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

Well, I just got back from returning my 28" Hanns.G monitor... not a huge deal, but thought I'd pass on the information for anyone else who may be looking at going to something huge.

Basically, this monitor comes with two hookups... analog VGA and HDMI. I have no intention of running my graphics cards on analog VGA, so I hooked up an DVI-HDMI cable and expected everything to run perfectly well... unfortunately, after the post screen everything went wrong.

After a lot of troubleshooting, it seems that recent nVidia drivers (or hardware, or both) recognize anything plugged into HDMI as an HDTV. As we all know, HDTV's are 16:9. Well this Hanns.G is 16:10. When I reduced the resolution to 1920x1080 it worked (though the proportions were off and it wasn't in its native resolution). I tried making custom resolutions etc... but no go. Eventually I just returned the monitor - no harm done.

Anyway, that's my story, use it as you will I have read there are registry hacks to get the cards to stop forcing HDTV resolutions over HDMI but I can't be assed to worry about that everytime I update drivers and frequently driver updates break these hacks, so for my own sanity, I'll just wait for a DVI alternative or buy an HDTV.
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 09:18 PM   #2
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

I run a hannspree 28 inch (basically the same monitor as yours I think, except different stand and more inputs) and I have no problem with my dvi to hdmi cable @ 1920x1200 here.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 10:14 PM   #3
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roliath View Post
I run a hannspree 28 inch (basically the same monitor as yours I think, except different stand and more inputs) and I have no problem with my dvi to hdmi cable @ 1920x1200 here.
Maybe it's a Windows 7 thing? I'm running Vista 64 with 2 x 260's, unless your 285's don't have the problem, but I tried everything to get that thing to display and if I went to any resolution that wasn't specifically listed as an HDTV resolution, I got no picture (although the blue light stayed on as if it was an active display, but it was black as if it was out of range). I found other people on the net with issues getting nVidia cards to not failsafe to HDTV when something is connected via HDMI?

I'm also assuming here, since you've got a high end system, that you're running fairly recent drivers? I tested the monitor out on my wife's PC with her 7600 GT and 170 something drivers and it worked no problem. I'm running the most recent WHQL which I think are 191.07?

Lastly, does the 285 have a dedicated HDMI out? I require a DVI-HDMI converter to connect, that could be an issue too?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-09, 01:49 AM   #4
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

I have to use a DVI-HDMI adapter the one that came with the gtx card.
I'm running 186.39, since I play Fallout 3. I still haven't decided to go to Win 7 yet on my gaming rig, but I do run it both in Snow Leopard with a VM of Win 7 and I have a Win 7 bootcamp install on my Macbook Pro.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-09, 07:16 AM   #5
SteveC
Ur Fav Mods Favorite Mod
 
SteveC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 52
Default Re: Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

Yea that's strange I have the same monitor Hanns-G HG281D and have no problems running at 1920X1200 with the dvi-hdmi adapter. My 295 has a dedicated HDMI port but I didn't have any extra laying around so I just used the adapter, your really not sacrificing anything by using the adapter.

Although Im not running Win7 yet, so maybe the problem lies there...
__________________
i7-950 | Gigabyte-EX58-UD4P | Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 | EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W | WD Raptor 74GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Hanns-G HG281D | Falcon Northwest Mach V
SteveC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-09, 09:13 AM   #6
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

I assumed Roliath was running Win7 as it was listed in his sig.

Sure is odd, though... but both of you are running newer cards - 285 and 295; my 260's are vanilla purchased as soon as they were available 18 months or so ago. Maybe there's something specific with the hardware or perhaps there was just something wrong with the monitor? I'm considering trying a 32" 1080p television in the future (though I'd rather get a monitor having the tuner features could be useful) so the issue will be nullified anyway.
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-09, 11:05 AM   #7
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
I assumed Roliath was running Win7 as it was listed in his sig.

Sure is odd, though... but both of you are running newer cards - 285 and 295; my 260's are vanilla purchased as soon as they were available 18 months or so ago. Maybe there's something specific with the hardware or perhaps there was just something wrong with the monitor? I'm considering trying a 32" 1080p television in the future (though I'd rather get a monitor having the tuner features could be useful) so the issue will be nullified anyway.
Before my 285's, I ran GTX260's in SLI too. I run Vista 64 on my 285 rig.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-09, 11:28 AM   #8
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Hanns.G 28" Monitor + GTX 260 HDMI = FAIL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roliath View Post
Before my 285's, I ran GTX260's in SLI too. I run Vista 64 on my 285 rig.
Must be something wrong with that specific monitor, then. Glad I took it back anyway...
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.