Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-09, 12:04 PM   #25
mrjamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

I've been following this thread for a while, looks like there's some great progress being made!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyavenard View Post
LauriM, using your code as basis, I added those features to MythTV as well.
Is this patch in your Ubuntu vdpau backport debs? Will it make it in to 0.22? Really keen to try this out if you need testers.
mrjamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 07:04 PM   #26
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Here is the MythTV patch.
http://svn.mythtv.org/trac/ticket/7307

Added eq. to the studio levels ; let the user decide what they want to do... If they do want to apply contrast settings etc... let them...
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 07:22 PM   #27
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjamin View Post
I've been following this thread for a while, looks like there's some great progress being made!

Is this patch in your Ubuntu vdpau backport debs? Will it make it in to 0.22? Really keen to try this out if you need testers.
It is in my trunk repository and will be built automatically in a few hours (4PM GMT)..
I won't make it for 0.21 with the VDPAU backport, but it's extremely simply to adapt that change to it.

Don't know if it will make it to 0.22, the changes are rather small ; and it could be considered as a bug fix...

0.22 was supposed to have been released by now
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-09, 08:57 AM   #28
mrjamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyavenard View Post
It is in my trunk repository and will be built automatically in a few hours (4PM GMT)..
I won't make it for 0.21 with the VDPAU backport, but it's extremely simply to adapt that change to it.
I guess you're not planning on maintaining your own 0.22 releases either, so there's a chance this won't make it in to 0.22

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyavenard View Post
Don't know if it will make it to 0.22, the changes are rather small ; and it could be considered as a bug fix...
I'd call it more of an improvement...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyavenard View Post
0.22 was supposed to have been released by now
Indeed... but the number of tickets is almost halving every day - only 22 at last count, there were 37 yesterday!
mrjamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-09, 07:09 PM   #29
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjamin View Post
I guess you're not planning on maintaining your own 0.22 releases either, so there's a chance this won't make it in to 0.22
I will have my own 0.22, with this patch along various audio changes too...
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-09, 10:25 PM   #30
Lost Dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 151
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjamin View Post
Indeed... but the number of tickets is almost halving every day - only 22 at last count, there were 37 yesterday!
Yeah, 22 and I see there is a 0-22-fixes branch now! Looks like we're getting close.

This vdpau studio levels interests me... I'll have to keep my eye on it. Does xine-vdpau use 16-235 or is it using monitor level as well?
Lost Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-09, 11:12 PM   #31
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Dog View Post
Yeah, 22 and I see there is a 0-22-fixes branch now! Looks like we're getting close.
The studio level support in VDPAU has been added to mythtv trunk...

Would need to add it elsewhere too
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-09, 11:22 PM   #32
dougdeep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Thanks! These changes have seriously improved the picture quality on my mythbox.
dougdeep is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-09, 08:05 AM   #33
Lost Dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 151
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyavenard View Post
The studio level support in VDPAU has been added to mythtv trunk...

Would need to add it elsewhere too
This patch is in trunk but did it make it in time to .22-fixes?

I'll be installing the -RC1 this weekend!
Lost Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-09, 08:09 AM   #34
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Dog View Post
This patch is in trunk but did it make it in time to .22-fixes?

I'll be installing the -RC1 this weekend!
features for 0.22 were frozen during the first week of september... so no, it didn't make it.

It is however in the 0.22 packages I've put on my repository
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-09, 09:21 AM   #35
Lost Dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 151
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyavenard View Post
features for 0.22 were frozen during the first week of september... so no, it didn't make it.

It is however in the 0.22 packages I've put on my repository
Oh well... I compile myth myself so I'll snag the patch listed a few posts back and apply it myself... Thanks for all your help on the development side of things!
Lost Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-09, 08:15 AM   #36
mrjamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: VDPAU and studio levels (16-235) possible?

I'm getting really excited about this, well done Jean-Yves.

Will have a go at upgrading tonight.
mrjamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.