Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-09, 10:14 PM   #13
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

pretty sweet
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-09, 10:32 PM   #14
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

The fact that it got a low FPS of 48 (even though the average was 73) with that rig really proves that Crysis sucks.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-09, 11:30 PM   #15
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
The fact that it got a low FPS of 48 (even though the average was 73) with that rig really proves that Crysis sucks.
48 is pretty playable isn't it?
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 01:18 AM   #16
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Yawn... Wake me up when its done with one card...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 01:23 AM   #17
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Yawn... Wake me up when its done with one card...
You may be sleeping for a while
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 01:43 AM   #18
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
You may be sleeping for a while
I feel it's not worth the hassle. So much money for 1 minute of benchmarking... What a waste of time and money...

And when a card comes out that runs that, its still going to be over in a minute... We'd be talking about a 4-year old game that was demanding... for a whole 10 seconds...

- I can run Crysis fully maxed on my RADVIDIA 10832GTU
- That 4 year old game?
- Yeah
- K.

__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 01:48 AM   #19
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
I feel it's not worth the hassle. So much money for 1 minute of benchmarking... What a waste of time and money...

And when a card comes out that runs that, its still going to be over in a minute... We'd be talking about a 4-year old game that was demanding... for a whole 10 seconds...

- I can run Crysis fully maxed on my RADVIDIA 10832GTU
- That 4 year old game?
- Yeah
- K.

A quarter mile track has been around far longer than Crysis and people are still spending hundreds of thousands of dollars on drag cars to see how fast they can do that.

Its the same thing.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 01:53 AM   #20
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
A quarter mile track has been around far longer than Crysis and people are still spending hundreds of thousands of dollars on drag cars to see how fast they can do that.

Its the same thing.
That's a sport. This isn't... With sports you can be entertained. But not with reading a bench result or watching the benchmark run... Unless people consider entertainment reading about the average frame rates of a game they'll most likely not play (not just run) ever again.

BTW, I also consider spending money on a car a waste... I own a Toyota, its cheap, reliable and it gets me from A to B. Same with computer parts. As long as it allows me to play the game properly (A to B)...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-18-09, 09:28 PM   #21
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
The fact that it got a low FPS of 48 (even though the average was 73) with that rig really proves that Crysis sucks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
48 is pretty playable isn't it?
Any game could be very demanding when you add the highest level of AA you fool (stalker, far cry 2, GTAIV) just that crysis looks so much better than all of those games and still very playable at max AA which those games AREN'T... so the game is ok. And 50fps is very playable, and remember this number could have been registered when the textures were loading in at the first runloop and thereby lowering the frames for a second, it will still show up as "min fps" but the average minimum framerate should be between 50 and 70 = 60... and there u have it.. avg min fps = 60 not 48.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
That's a sport. This isn't... With sports you can be entertained. But not with reading a bench result or watching the benchmark run... Unless people consider entertainment reading about the average frame rates of a game they'll most likely not play (not just run) ever again.

BTW, I also consider spending money on a car a waste... I own a Toyota, its cheap, reliable and it gets me from A to B. Same with computer parts. As long as it allows me to play the game properly (A to B)...
Sports is entertaining, watching a benchmark isn't, but being able to max out crysis with visuals not available without it can be entertaining too if you like the kind of games. Ofc he didn't bought those cards only to be able to do crysis benchmarks at highest settings... It's just a fair way of showing that it's possible.

With those cards, you could probably play crysis at 6000x4000 resolution which would mean if that res is supersampled to let's say 1920x1200 it would mean a serious jump in visual quality as the need for AA and AF is gone into oblivion and textures get nearly twice as sharp. That's entertaining for those who like nice graphics, so i have to disagree about your statement above! Guess the guy who made the vid likes realistic and mindblowing graphics, just as it seems.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 10:41 PM   #22
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soetdjuret View Post
Sports is entertaining, watching a benchmark isn't, but being able to max out crysis with visuals not available without it can be entertaining too if you like the kind of games. Ofc he didn't bought those cards only to be able to do crysis benchmarks at highest settings... It's just a fair way of showing that it's possible.

With those cards, you could probably play crysis at 6000x4000 resolution which would mean if that res is supersampled to let's say 1920x1200 it would mean a serious jump in visual quality as the need for AA and AF is gone into oblivion and textures get nearly twice as sharp. That's entertaining for those who like nice graphics, so i have to disagree about your statement above! Guess the guy who made the vid likes realistic and mindblowing graphics, just as it seems.
Each person has their own idea of fun, so yeah, you have a point.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 10:50 PM   #23
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

Face it with the scaling of 4-way SLI you can't really expect that much out of it. The numbers are impressive for what they are but you'd be pretty insane to sink that kind of money in a setup like that with GT300 on the horizon. Well that is unless money is no object.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 10:57 PM   #24
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: First to fully max out crysis with well over 60 fps!

You are very right Jason.. It would be foolish to get a setup like this when gt300 is just ahead. But the guy making this vid is prolly a rich s.o.b, and i knew from before that he had already 3 gtx 285 laying around.. so Guess gettin another one wasn't too hard for him. I'd be interested in seeing some 3 or 4 HD5870's in CFX (if possible) results to compare with these four 285's...
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.