Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-09, 08:55 PM   #97
freeflyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Windows 7

Hi,

You guys seem to be pretty familiar with hardware. I was wondering if you could help me out. I run a Core 2 Quad 6600 with a 680i/sli board, 4gb ram, 2 8600gt cards, WD Sata Caviar SE (wd1600aajs) HD and a Samsung SH-S202N DVD. I have XP now...and I want to run Windows 7 64 bit for better security and so I can run more ram. Do you know if all my crap will be compatible with the 64 bit? Any problems I should look out for? I seem to have found 64 bit Win 7 drivers for the nv stuff, I think the HD will work....but I'm not sure about the Writer. Just trying to head any problems off....since I can't afford for my computer to be down. It's funny....I built the thing....and I have no idea. HAHAHA Anyway...any help would be appreciated. Thanks.....
freeflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-09, 08:59 PM   #98
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows 7

yes everything will work
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-09, 09:37 PM   #99
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
yes everything will work
+1.

Win7 is t3h sh!t.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-09, 03:50 AM   #100
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Windows 7

my pre-order of Win 7 Pro retail arrived early last night and i installed it on a brand new HD without issues

woot!


well my pertelian display gave me a BSOD trying to use the driver off its site but its been iffy since i got vista and the devs are working on a win 7 driver STILL!

i may sell it as i have a matrix orbital anyway and the drivers for the pertelian display have always been crap with basic software too
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-09, 03:34 PM   #101
freeflyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Windows 7

Hey Nekro...and Butter.....thanks for the responses. I appreciate it....
freeflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-09, 05:33 PM   #102
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by wysiwyg View Post
my pre-order of Win 7 Pro retail arrived early last night
Where from?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-09, 05:46 PM   #103
Absolution
AbsoUI
 
Absolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 933
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
yes but Virtual PC doesn't always equal Virtual XP.

btw, did some googling and found it

ooooo thanks, thats actually a really good thing to know about
Absolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-09, 03:49 AM   #104
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7

I just received an email from Newegg that my preorder for Win 7 Home Premium upgrade has been charged and is in process of being shipped. I hope to hell it is going to let me upgrade from Win 7 RC and not make me install XP first.
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-09, 04:48 AM   #105
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
Where from?
PC World
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-09, 04:50 AM   #106
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Windows 7

how do i run the XP mode? just out of interest as i dont think i would use it
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-09, 05:10 AM   #107
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Windows 7

I've only run into a few problems here & there, but it's nothing to do with Windows 7 as much as it does x64 drivers. Such as the multimedia keys (Previous, Next) not working when iTunes is not the focus. Play works just fine with mmkeys.dll in the plugins folder. Mostly just annoying things like that. Apart from that I've yet to really see any problems on my particular setup.

A buddy of mine had a launch party and got the Special Edition (I'm still running my TechNet RTM). He was running TechNet RTM and reformatted with his "Special Ed" release and has had problems with it ever since. I keep telling him to just get the build from TechNet again but nooo gotta have his "Signature Copy" installed. *eye roll*

The whole XP Mode thing seems more of a hassle than it's worth. Changing the environment on an app like that would probably result in more work fixing the undocumented bugs that come with "custom environments". IMHO XP Mode compat should not have been worked on at all. Like the OS'es before it XP needs to actually realize it's EoL regardless of the whiner-babies that cry, but but but our PowerCOBOL apps won't run on Windows 7. To that I would have say, THANK GOD!

(And no I don't know either way if Fujistu PowerCOBOL runs on Windows 7, nor do I care.)
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-09, 11:03 AM   #108
shteve
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 126
Default Re: Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
I just received an email from Newegg that my preorder for Win 7 Home Premium upgrade has been charged and is in process of being shipped. I hope to hell it is going to let me upgrade from Win 7 RC and not make me install XP first.
Don't think you can upgrade from Ultimate (which the RC was) to Home Premium.
__________________
i920@3.3GHz, Corsair Hydro, Asus P6T Dlx V2, 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600, Xonar DX, Palit GTX670, Corsair 1000W, Dell 2407WFP,, LG1710B (secondary), Crucial M4 128GB, 5 1TB drives ..., Win7 HP
shteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.