Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-09, 11:32 PM   #1
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Shutting down every 15 minutes

So yesterday I set my bios to default, removing my overclock. Computer was running pretty much flawless until this.
Originally, I had FSB set to 400, and my DRAM voltage at 2.1v for an overclock of 3.2ghz. (see specs in sig, I am running windows 7 rc 32bit)

Today I went to play Dragon Age and my system shut down. I recall having to manually set the RAM voltage to 2.1 because apparently the P5Q will put it at 1.8v by default, causing stability issues. So I did this, and boom, after another 15 minutes of being in windows, computer shut down again. No bsod's.

Just now I reset the CMOS, and reseated my memory, graphics card, and reconnected the 24pin and 8 pin cpu connectors. Booted up only changing the DRAM voltage to 2.1v, made it into windows for about 10 minutes and tried to run prime95, and bam it shut down again.

Any ideas?

I have a q8300 and 2 gigs of Kingston HyperX along with windows 7 coming next week, so I'm trying to rule out if it is my current memory, or PSU causing the problem. I don't want to have new parts arrive and have a system that doesn't work.

Could something really have happened to my hardware just by resetting the bios to default?

Thanks guys..
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-09, 12:11 AM   #2
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

Update...been sitting in bios for 20+ minutes without any shutdowns. Is it possible that the OS is causing this?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-09, 01:37 AM   #3
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

Run a temperature monitoring program, what temp does your cpu/northbridge/videocard hit?

No, I don't know why that might be the case, but it is the first thing I'd check. Also may want to check the manufacturer site for your memory, check that the defaults for your memory voltage/timings are what they should be.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-09, 12:07 PM   #4
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

never trust the default bios settings!!!
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-09, 05:16 PM   #5
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

Well I set everything to Auto and it's been stable in windows all day. I'm going to try and play dragon age and see how long it goes.

My temps are fairly good. However, motherboard temps (not sure if its northbridge or southbridge, probably north because the heatsink feels loose) can get up into the 80s. However, it has been like this for awhile and never posed a problem. I have AS5 and new zalman heatsinks(in case re-applying paste doesn't work) coming in the mail but it'll likely be a good week til then :/

Any suggestions or tips on trying to get my OC back?

EDIT: Gonna try to run memtest now as well
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-09, 06:48 PM   #6
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

Every time memtest got to about 25% my computer would shut down. However, no errors were reported.

Is it possible my PSU is at fault? Or is it simply the northbridge overheating?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-09, 05:43 PM   #7
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

Could a mod move this thread (and delete this post if necessary) to the CPU, Motherboards section? I'll probably get a better response. Thank you
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-10, 09:07 AM   #8
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

sounds like a PSU issue

if not overheating issue
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-07-10, 02:01 PM   #9
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

MY old OCZ PSU did this.. It had adjustable rails, so I bought a multimeter, adjusted, tested, adjusted, tested until I found the optimum values. Before, the computer would just randomly shut off....

With your temp monitor app (or in BIOS) try setting an alarm when the temps hit a certain point, and see how long before the computer shuts off. Keep raising it and see if there is a difference - this will tell you if the computer is shutting off due to overheating.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 03:21 PM   #10
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

80 degrees sounds very hot to me. I Remember the P45's running pretty cool. Like about 40*C cool. It could be a be sensor, but I would be looking to sort that ASAP.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 04:48 PM   #11
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
80 degrees sounds very hot to me. I Remember the P45's running pretty cool. Like about 40*C cool. It could be a be sensor, but I would be looking to sort that ASAP.
Lol sorry for not replying, old thread revival. I ended up buying a new board.
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 06:48 PM   #12
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Shutting down every 15 minutes

Quote:
Originally Posted by nV`andrew View Post
Well I set everything to Auto and it's been stable in windows all day. I'm going to try and play dragon age and see how long it goes.

My temps are fairly good. However, motherboard temps (not sure if its northbridge or southbridge, probably north because the heatsink feels loose) can get up into the 80s. However, it has been like this for awhile and never posed a problem. I have AS5 and new zalman heatsinks(in case re-applying paste doesn't work) coming in the mail but it'll likely be a good week til then :/

Any suggestions or tips on trying to get my OC back?

EDIT: Gonna try to run memtest now as well
+80f or +80c?

+80c is extremely hot.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.