Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-09, 11:03 PM   #109
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

These are my settings if you want to go over them. Also from what I've noticed cpu termination, cpu reference and mch reference all seem to to be tied together. Meaning when I change cpu termination voltage, cpu and mch references change. So .888v cpu reference will change to .901v when I bump my cpu termination voltage to 1.36. I do not know the exact formula tbh, I just put together what I could from a bunch of templates and it seems to have worked well while keeping the voltage reasonable. If Everest and cpu-z are accurate my cpu sits at 1.376v under load.
Hope it helps you out

Code:
Robust Graphics Booster - FAST
CPU Clock Ratio - 8.5X
CPU Host Frequency - 507
PCI Express Frquency - 100
C.I.A.2 - Disabled
CPU Clock Drive - 1000mV
PCI Express Clock Drive 1000mV
Clock skews are all set to 0PS.

****DRAM Performance Control****
Performance Enhance - Standard
Extreme Memory Profile - Disabled
(G) MCH Frequency Latch - Auto
System Memory Multiplier - 2.00B
DRAM Timing Selectable - Manual
>>>Standard Timing Control<<<
CAS Latency Time - 5
tRCD - 5
tRP - 5
tRAS - 15
>>>Advanced Timing Control<<<
tRRD - Auto
tWTR - Auto
tWR - Auto
tRFC - 55
tRTP - Auto
Command Rate - Auto (2)
>>>>Channel A Timing Settings
Static tRead Value - 9
Everything else is Auto
>>>>Channel B Timing Settings
Same as Chanel A.

****Motherboard Voltage Control****
>>>>CPU
Load Line Calibration - Enabled
CPU Vcore - 1.40625v
CPU Termination - 1.34V
CPU PLL - 1.57V
CPU Reference - .888V
>>>>MCH/ICH
MCH Core - 1.40V
MCH Reference - .928V
MCH/DRAM Refence - Auto
ICH I/O - Auto
ICH Core - Auto
>>>DRAM
DRAM Voltage - 2.100V
DRAM Termination - Auto
Channel A Reference - Auto
Channel B Reference - Auto

All CPU features disabled except for C1/C2/C4 and Vanderpool.
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 03:22 AM   #110
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

My system is still rock solid at 3.6.

I'll definitely be pushing it more over the next few days.

Also my temps seem to be great. All of my cores are sitting at 41C right now. I can't believe the core temps are so even considering that I just put one blob of AS5 in the center of the CPU and squished the heat sink onto it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 06:04 AM   #111
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

I appreciate you posting your settings Dr.Nick but those voltage settings are way too high for my liking. I'll just stick with 3.8 which is actually more than I need to be honest plus I like idling at 35C.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-09, 11:32 AM   #112
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

No problem. I only use them because they don't seem to make my cpu run very hot. None of my core's break 68c under load and they sit in the low to mid 30's at idle(probably due to the clocks dropping). But once you pass the 3.6 mark all is well
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-09, 02:11 PM   #113
balex99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cove, Texas
Posts: 214
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

Just got a Q9550. Love it. OC's well. Have it running at 3.6 with no voltage added to cpu. Right now I am limited, I believe, by my Corsair XMS6400. The mem is running at 425. Is it worth it to get some 1066 stuff (around $100) to see it the chip can get to 4 ghz? Would love to see it running at 4ghz but not sure how common that is on the Q9550s.

Any input is appreciated.
__________________
"If you show up for a fair fight, you are not prepared!" --U.S. Marine Sniper School Instructor


I7-930@3.8ghz/Swiftech H20-220 Compact(CPU only)/Asus P6T/3x2gb Corsair DDR3 1600/Galaxy 470@stock(for now)/Corsair TX850/Samsung & LiteOn Sata DVDRW /Lian Li V2000B PlusII/Windows 7 64bit/Samsung 24" 245BW
balex99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 10:51 AM   #114
Dr.Nick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,044
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

Welcome to the club and nice find on the e0 9550. Since you are watercoolin I say definitely go for it. It wont cost much if you sell your current ram and 4GHz is pretty much a given for an e0 on water
__________________
i7 920@4.03|asus p6t7ws|6gb ocz|gtx580oc sli|x-fi fatality|x25m+12tb|enermax 1kw|dell u3011 & 2405fpw
Dr.Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 12:05 PM   #115
syndicot
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by balex99 View Post
Just got a Q9550. Love it. OC's well. Have it running at 3.6 with no voltage added to cpu. Right now I am limited, I believe, by my Corsair XMS6400. The mem is running at 425. Is it worth it to get some 1066 stuff (around $100) to see it the chip can get to 4 ghz? Would love to see it running at 4ghz but not sure how common that is on the Q9550s.

Any input is appreciated.
If you have the E0 stepping its very common. Mine is at 4ghz right now with just a meager 1.26VC and is prime 95 stable. I have had it as high as 4.3ghz but backed it down to 4ghz because it didnt make a difference in any of my apps or games.
syndicot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 12:58 PM   #116
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndicot View Post
If you have the E0 stepping its very common. Mine is at 4ghz right now with just a meager 1.26VC and is prime 95 stable. I have had it as high as 4.3ghz but backed it down to 4ghz because it didnt make a difference in any of my apps or games.
But it increases E-Peen significantly....
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-01-09, 04:16 PM   #117
balex99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cove, Texas
Posts: 214
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

Mine is the EO stepping. The guys over at Xtremesystems think it is my board that is holding me back and not the mem. What do yall think? Is there any way I can test this without buying the memory?

I tried loosening the timings and upping the FSB voltage but couldn't get it to run at anything higher than 430mhz. That is with the cpu multi lowered to test the memory. Also I am running with all slots populated. I've got 4x1gb sticks. If any of that info helps.

Oh, and thanks for the replies.
__________________
"If you show up for a fair fight, you are not prepared!" --U.S. Marine Sniper School Instructor


I7-930@3.8ghz/Swiftech H20-220 Compact(CPU only)/Asus P6T/3x2gb Corsair DDR3 1600/Galaxy 470@stock(for now)/Corsair TX850/Samsung & LiteOn Sata DVDRW /Lian Li V2000B PlusII/Windows 7 64bit/Samsung 24" 245BW
balex99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 05:00 PM   #118
syndicot
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 90
Default Re: Yorkfield & Wolfdale Overclocking Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by balex99 View Post
Mine is the EO stepping. The guys over at Xtremesystems think it is my board that is holding me back and not the mem. What do yall think? Is there any way I can test this without buying the memory?

I tried loosening the timings and upping the FSB voltage but couldn't get it to run at anything higher than 430mhz. That is with the cpu multi lowered to test the memory. Also I am running with all slots populated. I've got 4x1gb sticks. If any of that info helps.

Oh, and thanks for the replies.
It likely is your board, my last board was a gigabyte p35 board and it could not clock my Q9550 anywhere near as high as my gigabyte p45 board.
syndicot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P4 overclocking - how do you do it? saturnotaku CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 08-15-02 08:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.