Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-09, 05:44 PM   #13
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

PCIe BW doesn't make much difference for dedicated card to run PhysX unless you go down to 1x.
http://physxinfo.com/news/880/dedica...i-e-bandwidth/
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-09, 01:51 PM   #14
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Thats good, My 8800gt is on a x4 slot.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-09, 04:18 PM   #15
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
I have a 9600GT I use for Physx but I don't have it installed right now since I'm not playing any Physx games at the moment.

When I decide to play Mirror's Edge, Cryostasis and Batman I'll definitely put the 9600GT back in.
Same here
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-09, 10:20 PM   #16
Llamalama
Registered User
 
Llamalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

I have a P55 so if I use the 4x slot for physx would it render my main 16x slot into 8x. Hope this makes sense.
__________________
Maximus III - Intel 875K@4ghz- 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 -2 x GTX 480-Corsair 1000W PSU
Llamalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 12:10 AM   #17
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Llamalama View Post
I have a P55 so if I use the 4x slot for physx would it render my main 16x slot into 8x. Hope this makes sense.
I'm not certain...

It might, or it might not. I don't think the second slot was intended for a video card specifically. Capable? Yes. Intended- maybe. I'm thinking that the two slots *might* not be tied together- thus regardless if slot #2 is occupied or not, your primary one runs at x16.

Though I could be wrong- at the time those mobos were out your could get by running a card in an x4 slot for CrossFire. Not the best idea, but you could do it.

Either way, I don't think going from x16 to x8 will hurt your FPS much. I've not looked into it since the 8800 days, but from what I gather the PCI-e 1.0 interface offered more bandwidth than the cards could consume. I'd only assume the same holds true for the PCI-e 2.0 bandwidth.

In other words- I don't think dropping from x16 to x8 will hurt performance any. To the best of my knowledge, we've yet to saturate PCI-e x16 1.0 bandwidth yet, let alone the bandidth of PCI-e x16 2.0.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 06:13 PM   #18
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Llamalama View Post
I have a P55 so if I use the 4x slot for physx would it render my main 16x slot into 8x. Hope this makes sense.
I have a P35 with an x16 slot and an x4 slot. My videocard is still at x16 and the GT 240 runs at x4.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 09:40 PM   #19
Llamalama
Registered User
 
Llamalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Think I might pick up a 9800GT to try out. Thanks guys.
__________________
Maximus III - Intel 875K@4ghz- 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 -2 x GTX 480-Corsair 1000W PSU
Llamalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-09, 06:09 AM   #20
Rollo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Nick View Post
I added the same card for physx a few days ago and it definitely makes for a nice boost in batman and sacred 2. Weird thing is that all games seem smoother now; even mass effect seems to run a bit better.
I'm using a GTX295 as primary in both my boxes now, with a GTX260C216 for PhysX in one and a 9800GT in the other.

Playing Batman AA now, definitely a showcase title for PhysX and 3D Vision. (and just a GREAT game!)
__________________
Rig1:
intel 990X + 2 X EVGA 3GB GTX580 + 3 X Acer GD235Hz
3D Vision Surround

Rig 2:
intel 2500K + NVIDIA GTX590 + Dell 3007 WFPHC

[SIZE="1"]NVIDIA Focus Group Member
[B]NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.[/B][/SIZE]
Rollo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-19-09, 04:10 PM   #21
Fotis
Radeforce GTX7970
 
Fotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,346
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

I'm using a 9800GT for Physx with my 5870.Works great so far.
Batman makes some good use of Physx but there is a definate performance hit.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8GHz|Corsair H50|MSI X58 Platinum|3x2GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20|Gigabyte Radeon 7970 OC 3GB windforce|Samsung SSD 830 256GB/Intel SSD X25M 80GB|Seagate Ext. 2TB eSata|Corsair TX 750W|Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 7000|Silverstone Grandia GD-01 MX Black|Dell UltraSharp U2412M| Windows 7 x64 Pro
Fotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-09, 04:12 PM   #22
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Technically I am, as I'm running dual 8800GTXs.

So far, however, I've not been very impressed with the added PhysX effects. Just not all that impressive.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-09, 03:45 PM   #23
Woodelf
I should be gaming.
 
Woodelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ferelden
Posts: 908
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Technically I am, as I'm running dual 8800GTXs.

So far, however, I've not been very impressed with the added PhysX effects. Just not all that impressive.
Except for a few blowing flag's, I have trouble seeing if it's being used or not. I guess I must not look hard enough.
__________________
i7920 @ 4.0 DO - Gigabyte ud4p - g.skill trident 6x2 ddr3 2000 @1600 7.7.7.18.1 - Cogage true spirit/sythe kaze 2000 - 2x Raid "0" WD 500GB (black) - xfi fatal1ty pro - Asus 5970 900/1200 - Corsair 1000HX - Samsung px2370
Woodelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-09, 05:50 PM   #24
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: How many of ya using a second for PhysX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodelf View Post
Except for a few blowing flag's, I have trouble seeing if it's being used or not. I guess I must not look hard enough.
+1
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.