Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-09, 12:06 AM   #1
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Backup Software

Anyone have any experience with backup software? The only one I know of is Norton Ghost. I've only used a very old version for copying the image of a HDD onto another HDD so I know nothing about the backup features.

I'm looking for something to backup over 500GB of data from 3 different PC's onto one external HDD. Something smart that can properly do incremental backups would definitely help save time.

So how is Norton Ghost to use for this kind of thing? Are there any good alternatives?
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 01:28 AM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Backup Software

Acronis is considered the best of the best, although I'm finding it getting more and more bloated.

The inbuilt Windows 7 one is pretty good, it'll do an image and regular backups with little fuss.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 02:22 AM   #3
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Backup Software

Interesting. I'll try out the win7 backup on my mates win7 pc and see how it goes.

All PC's are on XP now but we're looking at a new file server so that will definitely have win7. I'll have to see if it is ok with backing up data from other XP machines over the network though. I have a feeling it may not feature anything like that but I'll look into it.

Thanks for the help.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 06:43 AM   #4
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7,520
Talking Re: Backup Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Acronis is considered the best of the best, although I'm finding it getting more and more bloated.

The inbuilt Windows 7 one is pretty good, it'll do an image and regular backups with little fuss.
Agreed. I ditched Acronis when it failed to restore an XP backup from a system that was running dual boot (XP/Vista).

I've use the system backup feature in Vista and 7 and find that they meet my requirements. Take a full backup and then incremental backups to save on disk space. If you're a "real" man, you should test the restore capability...LOL.

I've done so on a couple of occasions and the restore worked flawlessly.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 06:54 AM   #5
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Backup Software

Ha just realised it's in vista too, went to search for it and realised it was at the bottom of the start menu... even though I swear I've never used it. Vista is smart I tells ya.

It looks like it has everything I need, I'll do a mock run at work tomorrow on the one Vista PC on the network. Was going to buy Acronis with the new file server but don't see the point now after the bad feedback.

Thanks fellas
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 11:20 AM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Backup Software

How does the image back up in 7 work regarding adding files after the image is created? i.e. would I install drivers and apps, create the backup, then set it to do incremental backups to another folder or can the image be modified after it's created?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 11:38 AM   #7
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Backup Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Acronis is considered the best of the best, although I'm finding it getting more and more bloated.

The inbuilt Windows 7 one is pretty good, it'll do an image and regular backups with little fuss.
+1

  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 12:27 PM   #8
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Backup Software

I'm using BackupExec 12.5. I'm backing up daily to external 500 GB hd's. I am backing an Exchange Server, SharePoint, SQL, and a host of other servers. I'm happy and I have yet to have a problem.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-08-09, 01:52 PM   #9
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Backup Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
How does the image back up in 7 work regarding adding files after the image is created? i.e. would I install drivers and apps, create the backup, then set it to do incremental backups to another folder or can the image be modified after it's created?

Thanks.
I don't think the image can be manipulated. 7 warns that the image is an image, it doesn't even allow you to restore select files in the image, it's everything or nothing. One downside to Windows backup that Acronis doesn't share. With Acronis you can mount an image and salvage what you want.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 02:57 PM   #10
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: Backup Software

BY FAR the best backup solution for a Windows based PC is to get a Windows Home Server. Complete image backups on a daily basis. 100% automated. It backs it up in the background using minimal system resources. I played Dragon Age while the backup was running, and it ran without a hitch. Data redundancy in case one of the hard drives goes bad. And it uses an interesting compression technology. I have 12 unique image backups of my 250GB of data, and it takes up 119 GB of space on my server. If your hard drive crashes you can get it up and running in less than an hour (provided you have a replacement hard drive). If you ever need to restore a file it lets you open an individual image and select the individual file you'd like to restore.

I put a 2x750GB hot-swappable Windows Home Server together for $500. An amazing piece of technology for the price.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 03:00 PM   #11
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: Backup Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral View Post
Anyone have any experience with backup software? The only one I know of is Norton Ghost. I've only used a very old version for copying the image of a HDD onto another HDD so I know nothing about the backup features.

I'm looking for something to backup over 500GB of data from 3 different PC's onto one external HDD. Something smart that can properly do incremental backups would definitely help save time.

So how is Norton Ghost to use for this kind of thing? Are there any good alternatives?
dude, get a Windows Home Server and stick a couple of 2TB hard drives in it. It would be perfect for what you want.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 07:33 PM   #12
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Backup Software

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
I don't think the image can be manipulated. 7 warns that the image is an image, it doesn't even allow you to restore select files in the image, it's everything or nothing. One downside to Windows backup that Acronis doesn't share. With Acronis you can mount an image and salvage what you want.
That's what I was wondering. Thanks crainger.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.