Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-03, 01:48 PM   #1
slicknick1213
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Question Nforce2 Chipset - Drivers LAN + OPEN GL for Redhat9

Hi guys,

I am currently enrolled in a Linux course but I am still fairly new with Red Hat. I just recently built a new box for the purpose of school. It has Red Hat 9 and Windows XP dual booted. My only problem so far is that I don't know how to get my LAN driver/Built in NIC to work. I was going to try and download one of the .rpms but my kernel is 2.4.20-8 not -6 or -9.

The sound and graphics portion seem to have installed with the OS just fine. Allthough I have heard that the open GL doesnt work with the basic driver installed.

Anyone know how to get the Open GL and LAN working? I truely appreciate every response I get. Thank you guys for the help!

MY COMP SPECS ARE:

AMD ATHLON XP 2000+
MSI K7N2GM-L MS-6777 w/ BUILT IN NFORCE2 MCP
WD 40GB HDD
KERNEL: 2.4.20-8
slicknick1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-03, 02:50 PM   #2
playaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Lightbulb

For the ethernet lan, you can use the nForce drivers based on SRPMS or .tar.gz found at the NVIDIA website. Follow the README instructions.

Hope that helps.
playaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-03, 05:42 PM   #3
slicknick1213
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Default help

Well..I downloaded the NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm file but I am so newb I don't know what to do with it...I'm pretty sure this is the file I need..

I tried following the instructions

example% cd <directory with the rpm file>
example% su
Password: ******
example# rpm --rebuild NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm

After I hit enter..it says
--rebuild is an unknown option

I'm stuck here..what am I doing wrong..I realize this is very weak question..but I am quite new.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

System:
AMD ATHLON XP 2000+
RED HAT 9.0 (Downloaded)
Kernel: 2.4.20-8
Motherboard: MSI K7N2GM-L MS-6777
RAM: DDR-400 256MB
Video: Nforce2 MCP
HD: WD 40GB 7200RPM HDD
slicknick1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-03, 02:09 PM   #4
Say0nar4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Default

use rpmbuild instead

example% cd <directory with the rpm file>
example% su
Password: ******
example# rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm
Say0nar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-03, 05:37 PM   #5
playaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Default another option

If you don't have the "rpmbuild" you can follow the instructions for using the .tar.gz file instead of the .src.rpm file.
playaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-03, 06:10 PM   #6
fnarf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Default

I feel your pain. I'm also a brand-new linux newbie with your same motherboard, same Red Hat distribution, same problem: No NIC. Here's how I got it to work:

1. Clean up previous attempts. I don't know how to do this, so I just reinstalled Red Hat 9. I'm sure there's a clever way to undo previous changes, but I don't know it.

2. download the source rpm. As you correctly note, the existing binary rpms won't work, as they are for 2.4.20-6 or -9, and your kernel is 2.4.20-8. The source rpm is NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm and is available at http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_nforce_1.0-0261 (bottom of the page).

3. Log in as root. I found that becoming root isn't good enough, as important binary directories, like /sbin, weren't in my path otherwise.

4. Put the source rpm on a floppy, and copy it to your linux box. I put it in the /root directory, which is probably bad.

5. In that same directory, build the binary rpm from the source rpm by typing

% rpmbuild --rebuild NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm

a few screens of gibberish will scroll. The only thing that matters (assuming no errors) is the line near the end that reads

"Wrote /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm"

6. Go to that directory and rpm that file:

% rpm -i NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm

7. Load the module by typing

% modprobe nvnet

You will get warnings about a tainted GPL license, which may annoy your soul but won't bother your computer any.

8. I don't know how to do this part in shell, only in the GUI (Gnome). Run the Network Configuration tool in System Tools again. You should see your nvnet on eth0 on the Hardware tab. On the Device tab, click "New", select "Ethernet connection", click "Forward", select "nvnet (eth0)", click "Forward", and click "Forward" one more time. After a short delay you should have a usable NIC. Click "Activate" to, uh, activate.

9. ping google.com and/or open a web page to check it. Mine works.
fnarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-03, 01:18 AM   #7
bahamot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
"Wrote /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm"

6. Go to that directory and rpm that file:

% rpm -i NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm
u can just type : "rpm -Uvh /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.i386.rpm"
without have cd to /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386
bahamot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.