Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-09, 05:51 PM   #1
tjohn
Paleo Pennsylvania
 
tjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 721
Default Drive format question.

Hey, I have a laptop (1 hard drive) with dual boot Vista/Win7. Originally I had Vista, then I did a shrink volume and split my hard drive in half and installed Win7 on the shrunk volume. Now I want to dump Vista and just use Win7. How do I get rid of the Vista volume? From Win7 windows explorer, choose the Vista drive letter and format?

Thanks, TJ
__________________
Main Rig == ASRock Z68 Pro Gen3 | I7 2600K @ 4.6 | G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB | CMV8 Cooler | Crucial C300 RealSSD 128GB | EVGA 570GTX | CM HAFX | Win7 x64

HTPC == Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT | AMD X2 240 Regor | A-DATA 2X4 PC3 10600 | WD 1TB | LG Blue-Ray | Corsair 400W PSU | Lian Li PC-C37B | Win7 x64

Home Server == Gigabyte GA-MA785GM | AMD Sempron 2.7GHz 45W | G.SKILL 2X1 DDR2 667 | WD GRN 1 TB x3 | Seasonic 380W 80+ Bronze | Antec 300 case | Windows Home Server

Toshiba U405-S2830 Laptop | 13.3" - 1200x800 | C2D T8100 2.1 Penryn | 4 GB DDR2 677 | Wireless N | Intel X3100 Vid | 250GB HDD | Win7 x64

HP dm3 Laptop | 13.3" - 1366x768 | AMD Athlon Neo X2 | ATI Radeon HD 3200 | 4GB DDR2 | 320GB HDD | Wireless N | Bluetooth | Windows 8 Developer Preview
tjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-09, 06:02 PM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Drive format question.

No!

I'm not 100% sure about Vista / Win7 with the new boot manager, but if you did that you might delete the boot files causing neither one to work.

I think if you're loaded into windows 7 what you can do is delete the Vista partition, then extend your windows 7 partition. Once that is complete you'll need to reboot the system and boot from your Windows 7 disc. Then you'll run a boot repair to reload the boot manager. (Not sure what it's called) Then you should be able to boot back into windows 7.

The main thing is that you'll need to have the Windows 7 dvd handy to get rid of the Vista partition. If you do then you should be okay, just make sure to backup data before attempting to extend the partition.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-09, 06:29 PM   #3
tjohn
Paleo Pennsylvania
 
tjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 721
Default Re: Drive format question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
No!

I'm not 100% sure about Vista / Win7 with the new boot manager, but if you did that you might delete the boot files causing neither one to work.

I think if you're loaded into windows 7 what you can do is delete the Vista partition, then extend your windows 7 partition. Once that is complete you'll need to reboot the system and boot from your Windows 7 disc. Then you'll run a boot repair to reload the boot manager. (Not sure what it's called) Then you should be able to boot back into windows 7.

The main thing is that you'll need to have the Windows 7 dvd handy to get rid of the Vista partition. If you do then you should be okay, just make sure to backup data before attempting to extend the partition.
I don't see a delete partition option from Win7. I tried disk management and explorer.
__________________
Main Rig == ASRock Z68 Pro Gen3 | I7 2600K @ 4.6 | G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB | CMV8 Cooler | Crucial C300 RealSSD 128GB | EVGA 570GTX | CM HAFX | Win7 x64

HTPC == Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT | AMD X2 240 Regor | A-DATA 2X4 PC3 10600 | WD 1TB | LG Blue-Ray | Corsair 400W PSU | Lian Li PC-C37B | Win7 x64

Home Server == Gigabyte GA-MA785GM | AMD Sempron 2.7GHz 45W | G.SKILL 2X1 DDR2 667 | WD GRN 1 TB x3 | Seasonic 380W 80+ Bronze | Antec 300 case | Windows Home Server

Toshiba U405-S2830 Laptop | 13.3" - 1200x800 | C2D T8100 2.1 Penryn | 4 GB DDR2 677 | Wireless N | Intel X3100 Vid | 250GB HDD | Win7 x64

HP dm3 Laptop | 13.3" - 1366x768 | AMD Athlon Neo X2 | ATI Radeon HD 3200 | 4GB DDR2 | 320GB HDD | Wireless N | Bluetooth | Windows 8 Developer Preview
tjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-09, 06:31 PM   #4
tjohn
Paleo Pennsylvania
 
tjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 721
Default Re: Drive format question.

I might try just popping in the Win7 disk and seeing what comes up... maybe an option to delete partitions??
__________________
Main Rig == ASRock Z68 Pro Gen3 | I7 2600K @ 4.6 | G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB | CMV8 Cooler | Crucial C300 RealSSD 128GB | EVGA 570GTX | CM HAFX | Win7 x64

HTPC == Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT | AMD X2 240 Regor | A-DATA 2X4 PC3 10600 | WD 1TB | LG Blue-Ray | Corsair 400W PSU | Lian Li PC-C37B | Win7 x64

Home Server == Gigabyte GA-MA785GM | AMD Sempron 2.7GHz 45W | G.SKILL 2X1 DDR2 667 | WD GRN 1 TB x3 | Seasonic 380W 80+ Bronze | Antec 300 case | Windows Home Server

Toshiba U405-S2830 Laptop | 13.3" - 1200x800 | C2D T8100 2.1 Penryn | 4 GB DDR2 677 | Wireless N | Intel X3100 Vid | 250GB HDD | Win7 x64

HP dm3 Laptop | 13.3" - 1366x768 | AMD Athlon Neo X2 | ATI Radeon HD 3200 | 4GB DDR2 | 320GB HDD | Wireless N | Bluetooth | Windows 8 Developer Preview
tjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-09, 06:32 AM   #5
FlakMagnet
Registered User
 
FlakMagnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farnborough, UK
Posts: 335
Default Re: Drive format question.

Before doing any of that, I highly recommend you image your drive! If you have something like Acronis True Image, backup onto an external drive then tinker to your heart's content.

Otherwise, you could end up having to reinstall Window 7.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 3.6GHz
POV GTX480 | 6GB Patriot DDR3 @1443
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro | 120GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2xSamsung 7200 750GB RAID 0| Akasa Eclipse 62
FlakMagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-09, 07:33 AM   #6
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Drive format question.

Windows 7 already has an imaging tool. Go into the maintenance folder then check out backup and restore.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-09, 07:59 AM   #7
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Drive format question.

i gave up after awhile.

if ure MBR is installed on the vista partition u cant just format the vista partition. if u go to computer management, and disk management, find where ure system partition is, if its on the same drive as vista...gl.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-09, 06:54 PM   #8
tjohn
Paleo Pennsylvania
 
tjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 721
Default Re: Drive format question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
i gave up after awhile.

if ure MBR is installed on the vista partition u cant just format the vista partition. if u go to computer management, and disk management, find where ure system partition is, if its on the same drive as vista...gl.
Looks like it Vista / system partion

__________________
Main Rig == ASRock Z68 Pro Gen3 | I7 2600K @ 4.6 | G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB | CMV8 Cooler | Crucial C300 RealSSD 128GB | EVGA 570GTX | CM HAFX | Win7 x64

HTPC == Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT | AMD X2 240 Regor | A-DATA 2X4 PC3 10600 | WD 1TB | LG Blue-Ray | Corsair 400W PSU | Lian Li PC-C37B | Win7 x64

Home Server == Gigabyte GA-MA785GM | AMD Sempron 2.7GHz 45W | G.SKILL 2X1 DDR2 667 | WD GRN 1 TB x3 | Seasonic 380W 80+ Bronze | Antec 300 case | Windows Home Server

Toshiba U405-S2830 Laptop | 13.3" - 1200x800 | C2D T8100 2.1 Penryn | 4 GB DDR2 677 | Wireless N | Intel X3100 Vid | 250GB HDD | Win7 x64

HP dm3 Laptop | 13.3" - 1366x768 | AMD Athlon Neo X2 | ATI Radeon HD 3200 | 4GB DDR2 | 320GB HDD | Wireless N | Bluetooth | Windows 8 Developer Preview
tjohn is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-21-09, 08:24 PM   #9
Boston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Drive format question.

Restoring the MBR and boot manager of Windows7 should be no problem. I only did it in XP though, where you booted with the setup disc for the recovery mode.
I have a 100MB partition for the boot manager I guess, so I'd make sure Windows7 has some space for this on the disc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard02.png
Views:	69
Size:	15.3 KB
ID:	38961  
Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-09, 08:35 PM   #10
tjohn
Paleo Pennsylvania
 
tjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 721
Default Re: Drive format question.

Well I can always just re install win7. Nothing much on the machine but emails. I'll give the win7 disk a go.
__________________
Main Rig == ASRock Z68 Pro Gen3 | I7 2600K @ 4.6 | G.Skill Ripjaws 16 GB | CMV8 Cooler | Crucial C300 RealSSD 128GB | EVGA 570GTX | CM HAFX | Win7 x64

HTPC == Gigabyte GA-MA785GMT | AMD X2 240 Regor | A-DATA 2X4 PC3 10600 | WD 1TB | LG Blue-Ray | Corsair 400W PSU | Lian Li PC-C37B | Win7 x64

Home Server == Gigabyte GA-MA785GM | AMD Sempron 2.7GHz 45W | G.SKILL 2X1 DDR2 667 | WD GRN 1 TB x3 | Seasonic 380W 80+ Bronze | Antec 300 case | Windows Home Server

Toshiba U405-S2830 Laptop | 13.3" - 1200x800 | C2D T8100 2.1 Penryn | 4 GB DDR2 677 | Wireless N | Intel X3100 Vid | 250GB HDD | Win7 x64

HP dm3 Laptop | 13.3" - 1366x768 | AMD Athlon Neo X2 | ATI Radeon HD 3200 | 4GB DDR2 | 320GB HDD | Wireless N | Bluetooth | Windows 8 Developer Preview
tjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-09, 03:14 AM   #11
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Drive format question.

its different to xp, vista and w7 is a bit different.

i looked around and u kno after awhile i just gave up, its way too easy to **** it up and i really dont have the time to mess around with it.

I wonder what the other people who had Vista / W7 dual did...

my one attempt i formated the drive from w7 installation, then reboot and it said no boot record...so i had to boot to disc and hit repair and lucky it reparied the mbr, but again it installed the mbr the vista partition...

hmm i guess one thing is format it, then disable the ex-vista hdd, then repair, then replug it...i guess it will have to repair to the w7 partition the mbr..
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-09, 07:04 AM   #12
Boston
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Drive format question.

I just successfully moved my system-partition to the beginning (after the 100MB) since I wanted to get rid of the D: partition (see my attached screenshot earlier). I only had to delete d: and move the left 'border' of c: to the beginning.

I used the free Business version of Partitionwizard (didn't try Home). It works very well and you just have to register in order to use it. The mail with the key arrived within minutes.
http://www.partitionwizard.com/

If it sounds like advertisement - well I almost gave up looking for a free application that works.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	67
Size:	14.4 KB
ID:	38963  
Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.