Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-09, 07:49 AM   #1
scotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default FX 1800 (or similar) and 30 or 60 inch monitor[s]?

I'm looking for a way to have a CentOS 5 machine drive two 30 inch monitors with Cinerama, or one 60 inch monitor, at full resolution. The reason for Cinerama is if two 30 inch monitors are placed together, the driver w/Cinerama would see both monitors as one - even the login window would appear "split" - half on one edge of the monitor, spilling over to the edge of the adjacent monitor.

Anyone know of a quality 60 inch monitor that supports 5120 x 3200?

So can the FX 1800, or similar NVidia card, drive two monitors at a combined 5120 x 3200, with Cinerama, or a single 60 inch monitor at 5120 x 3200 without Cinerama (wouldn't be needed because then there would only be a single display).

Additionally, the ability of the display to be mounted portrait or landscape, possibly looking like an open book (in the case of 2 x 30 inch) with Cinerama enabled in either case, and again all at full resolution?

Thanks.

Scott
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-09, 08:27 AM   #2
thefirstm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Default Re: FX 1800 (or similar) and 30 or 60 inch monitor[s]?

I doubt that you could drive a single monitor at a resolution that high, because it is well above the bandwidth limit of Dual-link DVI or VGA. Besides, practically the only 60" displays you will find will be HDTVs, which will top out at 1920x1080. Two 30" monitors probably would work, but I would recommend using TwinView instead of Xinerama, because Xinerama tends to be buggy and cause problems.
thefirstm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-09, 10:16 AM   #3
scotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: FX 1800 (or similar) and 30 or 60 inch monitor[s]?

Would it even be conceivable to install two FX1800 (or similar model) cards and drive 4 x 24 inch monitors from the same system?

Thanks again.

Scott
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-09, 02:25 PM   #4
scotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: FX 1800 (or similar) and 30 or 60 inch monitor[s]?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefirstm View Post
I doubt that you could drive a single monitor at a resolution that high, because it is well above the bandwidth limit of Dual-link DVI or VGA. Besides, practically the only 60" displays you will find will be HDTVs, which will top out at 1920x1080. Two 30" monitors probably would work, but I would recommend using TwinView instead of Xinerama, because Xinerama tends to be buggy and cause problems.
I was thinking more along the lines of the displayport connector on both systems. This is above DVI capability.
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-09, 09:09 PM   #5
thefirstm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Default Re: FX 1800 (or similar) and 30 or 60 inch monitor[s]?

You could conceivably do that, but you would have to use SLI Mosaic mode, otherwise you would be stuck with Xinerama, which would cause OpenGL and VDPAU problems for you.
thefirstm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.