Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-09, 03:08 AM   #25
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

This G0 q6600 has been dissapointing.

I just got an OCZ Vendetta 2 cooler and the temps went down alot! I was seeing 77-80 C under full load at 3ghz, and it managed to go down to 55 C under full load at the same settings.

So with this new cooler power I figured I'd try and overclock it a bit... well it's been very dissapointing. I am at 3.5ghz but at a very very high vcore of 1.5375v. I can't seem to hit 3.6ghz either no matter what I do. It's booted, and been relatively stable, but that's at 1.55v and one core would usually fail at p95 after abou 15 - 17 minutes.

Oh well... case closed with this one. I'll settle for 3.5ghz but I'd really love to replace this with a Q9xxx cpu at some point, I'm sure ~4ghz would be possible with that.
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-09, 01:27 PM   #26
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

what is the VID of your Q6600? you can check it using coretemp... well to be honest whether it's 3.5GHZ or 3.6GHZ you won't notice the difference.. also i wouldn't bother with a Q9xxx CPU since the core i5 is pretty cheap and would smoke it
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-09, 08:12 PM   #27
Holy Smoke
Registered User
 
Holy Smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 179
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

^ Agreed. I ran my Q6600 at stock for over a year before I upgraded my HSF and overclocked to 3ghz. I'd have to be pushed hard to say that I could tell the difference in practice.

I personally feel that the clockspeed race is pretty much over; I won't even think about upgrading my current system unless I'm adding cores.
__________________
It's better to be dead and cool than alive and uncool.
Holy Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-09, 02:53 AM   #28
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

VID = 1.325v

It was one of the later Q6600 chips. I picked it up right before they sold out on newegg around a year ago... figured the G0 would be a clocking monster but it seems to have degraded from when the first G0's came out... I remember seeing much lower VIDs and higher (3.7-3.8) overclocks...

I'm thinking at the time I should have swung with a Q9xxx... 4ghz doesn't seem too out of the ordinary with those
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-09, 02:55 AM   #29
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Oh and I dropped it back down to 3.4ghz again too.... It seems there's 1 program that stresses harder than prime95

tripcode explorer... It's pushing the temps higher than p95 did and it BSOD's after roughly 5 min. at 3.5

Not all is bad though... I can drop the voltage to 1.475 now as a result of the clock speed drop and the temps are much more comfortable (still peaking at 77C)... but that's rare, and the same temps I was getting at stock voltage of 1.325 with the other heatsink
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-09, 08:23 AM   #30
Delbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Station X
Posts: 517
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Did you bump your NB volts a bit ?
__________________
Q6600@3.6G (1.35v), 480 SoC (870/2000), 4Gig Mem, Abit IP35 Pro, Corsair HX620, 1x250Gig (OS), 2x250Gig (Games), P182. Win7... 290.53... http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/
Delbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-09, 04:36 AM   #31
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Yeh, I settled on 1.3v max for the NB from 1.1 stock

The main issue I was having was a core failing with a rounding error in P95. If I ran Tripcode Explorer it'll get hotter than I've seen with prime 95, and it actually would cause it to BSOD when p95 wouldn't.

0x00000124 was the BSOD BCC code that I was getting. It seemed to happen regardless of voltages that I was able to throw around comfortably... so I backed off the clock speed a bit.

What are you guys running your voltages at for those 3.6ghz overclocks? I find it very hard to believe that my chip is THAT much worse... 3.4ghz @ 1.5 is a huge difference compared to 3.6ghz @ 1.35....
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-10, 02:34 PM   #32
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat View Post
Yeh, I settled on 1.3v max for the NB from 1.1 stock

The main issue I was having was a core failing with a rounding error in P95. If I ran Tripcode Explorer it'll get hotter than I've seen with prime 95, and it actually would cause it to BSOD when p95 wouldn't.

0x00000124 was the BSOD BCC code that I was getting. It seemed to happen regardless of voltages that I was able to throw around comfortably... so I backed off the clock speed a bit.

What are you guys running your voltages at for those 3.6ghz overclocks? I find it very hard to believe that my chip is THAT much worse... 3.4ghz @ 1.5 is a huge difference compared to 3.6ghz @ 1.35....
im running 1.5V idle which drops to about 1.45V on full load at 3.6GHZ... been running it like this since august 2008.. my VID is 1.3125V and the cooler is OCZ vendetta 2 (great cooler but terrible clamping mechanism)
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-02-10, 02:53 PM   #33
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat View Post
Yeh, I settled on 1.3v max for the NB from 1.1 stock

The main issue I was having was a core failing with a rounding error in P95. If I ran Tripcode Explorer it'll get hotter than I've seen with prime 95, and it actually would cause it to BSOD when p95 wouldn't.

0x00000124 was the BSOD BCC code that I was getting. It seemed to happen regardless of voltages that I was able to throw around comfortably... so I backed off the clock speed a bit.

What are you guys running your voltages at for those 3.6ghz overclocks? I find it very hard to believe that my chip is THAT much worse... 3.4ghz @ 1.5 is a huge difference compared to 3.6ghz @ 1.35....
I've not read the entire thread so it's possible that this was already covered...

It might not be your CPU holding you back. It could be your mobo or your RAM as well. You CPU might have tons of oc'ing headroom but your RAM isn't up to snuff or your mobo thus holding you back.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 10:05 PM   #34
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Here comes the thread necro.....

I've been stable at 3.5ghz for 2 hours now. I don't have the patience to test any longer but I'll be letting it go tomorrow while I'm at work.

... in short, my cpu blows. It is taking 1.55v to get this thing stable. The only reason I'm really ok with that is because the temps are now down to 67 currently while running P95, and peaking at 75 max.

How? I finally lapped it.... but in general this still is horrible at overclocking compared to other Q6600's.

Lots of voltage and seh works.... eventually, I ended up getting 3.6ghz at 1.66v as well.... I wasn't comfortable with 98 C temps though.
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 10:05 PM   #35
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

oh... and 1.4v on the northbridge
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 10:02 AM   #36
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

I know this dont help but .........





__________________
Intel i7 920 D0@4GHz(Corsair Hydro H80i) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 16GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force LS SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Cooler Master HAF X Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.