Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-09, 05:45 AM   #1
thomaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

hi,
some weeks ago I bought an new notebook (compaq presario CQ60-418DX) is has a NVIDIA GeForce 8200M G.
It came with windows vista, but I wanted to use it with linux, so I installed Ubuntu. But after activating the driver it looked like this: Screenshot and the bugreport looks like this: nvidia-bug-report.log.
maybe some of you can help me? would be really great.
thx thomaz
thomaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-09, 02:01 PM   #2
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

This sounds like a known problem with the EDID in some laptops. Does adding Option "ModeValidation" "NoTotalSizeCheck" help?
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-09, 04:43 PM   #3
thomaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP View Post
Does adding Option "ModeValidation" "NoTotalSizeCheck" help?
where and how can I do this?
thomaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-09, 05:36 PM   #4
thomaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

Okay, I got i and it works fine.
thank you very much.

But I have is still another problem, the desktop effects are not working
thomaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-09, 01:44 PM   #5
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

Not working how, exactly? What are you trying to do and what happens instead? Please also generate and attach a new bug report log file.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 06:41 AM   #6
aviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

hi there,
I also have an presario CQ60 and had the same problem like thomaz, and my Visual Effects work not too.

I added "ModeValidation" "NoTotalSizeCheck", that worked great. But when I go to "System - Preferences - Appearance" and than to the tab "Visual Effects" and click on "Normal, provides improved ..." it takes some time an then a pop up appears telling me "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

anybody knows what I can do?
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (37.0 KB, 165 views)
aviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 05:15 PM   #7
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

Quote:
Originally Posted by aviator View Post
hi there,
I also have an presario CQ60 and had the same problem like thomaz, and my Visual Effects work not too.

I added "ModeValidation" "NoTotalSizeCheck", that worked great. But when I go to "System - Preferences - Appearance" and than to the tab "Visual Effects" and click on "Normal, provides improved ..." it takes some time an then a pop up appears telling me "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

anybody knows what I can do?
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvidia-bug-report.log.gz
(II) LoadModule: "glx"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions//libglx.so
dlopen: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions//libglx.so: undefined symbol: _nv000028gl
(EE) Failed to load /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions//libglx.so
(II) UnloadModule: "glx"
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (loader failed, 7)
Your driver is installed incorrectly: you have incompatible versions of libglx.so and libGLcore.so installed at the same time. I'd recommend uninstalling the driver via all of the ways that you installed it, and then reinstall it using only one method.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-10, 05:37 AM   #8
aviator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: display problem with compaq presario CQ60-418DX

thank you very much, works greate
aviator is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.