Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-10, 01:19 PM   #13
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

I'll get occt today then. Just got on the machine and it's still churning prime so it looks stable as a quad. Lucked out this time.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 04:05 AM   #14
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic View Post
I have three computers with the 780G boards and have built several rigs with that chipset. Its been really solid, no problems. I wouldn't worry about quality. AMD has done a pretty good job with its motherboards. They've been much better than nvidia chipsets I've owned in the past.
I think you should worry about quality, AMD certainly hadnt done good enough job with its motherboards, they not much better than nvidia chipsets. Where are AMD chipsets drivers? They are non-existed while Nvidia released nforce drivers about 2 times every year. USB 2.0 performance on AMD SB750 chipset is weak as SB400 and still running at half speed compared to Nvidia and Intel chipsets USB performance at full speed. AMD need a grip to fix the USB 2.0 performance problem but they still not fixed it since SB400 chipset released.

Wondered how well USB 3.0 will perform on AMD chipset motherboard, I would not be suprised if it still run at half speed than USB 3.0 on Intel chipset motherboard.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 11:54 AM   #15
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick123w View Post
I'll get occt today then. Just got on the machine and it's still churning prime so it looks stable as a quad. Lucked out this time.
Good deal.

Yeah OCCT has sometimes failed even after 12hrs of prime passed. I feel that OCCT is by far the best tool for overclocking....


I'm sure that you're loving that quad @ 2.8ghz...
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 12:05 PM   #16
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

Yeah it's nice. Haven't really noticed a difference in performance between this chip @ 2.8 and the i5 750 @4.0.... which is nice. Games play just the same as before which is pretty much what I was expecting with a mid-range card.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 12:17 PM   #17
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick123w View Post
Yeah it's nice. Haven't really noticed a difference in performance between this chip @ 2.8 and the i5 750 @4.0.... which is nice. Games play just the same as before which is pretty much what I was expecting with a mid-range card.
Yeah the AMD chips are pretty good, as long as you aren't running 3-4 cards...in Quad SLI or Xfire. Gaming is the area where it's most difficult to tell the difference between an AMD Quad and an Intel. I mean @ 102Fps can you tell the difference if you get 10% increase to 112fps?

Goodluck with that CPU.
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-10, 01:12 PM   #18
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

Thanks! Yeah I'm liking the chip so far. I like the motherboard quite a bit as well. I like the layout a little better than my old p55 ud3r board.

I'll be upgrading my video card later this year to something with some more memory so we will see how it performs at that time, but I'm expecting to be just fine.

I'll probably be looking at a 5770 or whatever midrange comes from team green.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-10, 09:50 AM   #19
Single Player
Бля, нахуй в рот!
 
Single Player's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 579
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

so everyone got GA-MA790XT-UD4P! i'm getting one! 2 Shamrock what's up with the ram voltage?
Single Player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-10, 10:28 PM   #20
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

I am using OCZ Reaper RAM (factory clock is 1600Mhz @ 1.9v). The UD4P is reporting it to Windows that my RAM is overclocked, which it isn't. Anything above 1.8v on the UD4P is considered OC, in the BIOS it's red.

SOOO..for Win7 to not BSOD on me for being OC'ed too much, I have to DOWNCLOCK my Ram to 1333Mhz, @ 1.8v for it to be stable.

Not a big deal, but I paid for 1600Mhz ram and I ain't getting it.
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-05-10, 12:05 PM   #21
psychogmv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 66
Default Re: Thoughts on new Gigabyte AM3 Mobo's?

I had a tough time to make this board stable with my RAM. Basically it is very unstable if you have high voltage DDR3 RAM. My OCZ Platinum crashed my system all the time, but I finally made it stable after overvolting the NB a little bit. From the OCZ forums, these AMD processors and specially this board, deal better with low voltage DDR3 memory. So try to select the ones rated 1.65V or below.
__________________
Dell XPS 15 L502X | Core i5-2410M | 4GB RAM | GeForce 525M 1GB | 1920x1080 BGR-LED

Playstation 3

Nintendo Wii
psychogmv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.