Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-10, 02:52 AM   #1
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Changing motherboard with windows 7

Whats the best way to go about this?

p5b to p5q

I have retail 7
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-10, 08:30 PM   #2
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Changing motherboard with windows 7

I went from a P965 to p35 and all I did was uninstall everything in device manager then shut down, swapped motherboards and booted up. Widows installed everything and I didn't even have to activate windows. You will have to install chipset and all that other stuff though. Very easy process.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-10, 03:37 AM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Changing motherboard with windows 7

did it not affect your game installations/activations at all?

also
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rum Cooler View Post
uninstall everything in device manager
Can you be a little more specific?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-10, 04:08 AM   #4
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Changing motherboard with windows 7

No it did not affect installations at all. I went in to device manager and uninstalled all drivers for all the hardware and all the Asus drivers then swapped mobo's.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-10, 10:37 AM   #5
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Changing motherboard with windows 7

Thanks!

I uninstalled drivers but they kept creeping back in the pesky buggers

No BSOD's yet
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-10, 10:55 AM   #6
shabby
Forcefed GXP
 
shabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Changing motherboard with windows 7

All you have to do in uninstall the ide/sata drivers when switching mobo's http://arstechnica.com/hardware/news...ng-windows.ars
__________________
2500k/Asus P67-Pro/8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3/X25-M/p190
shabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 12:04 PM   #7
enoteware
Just Basically Awesome
 
enoteware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 100
Default Re: Changing motherboard with windows 7

That is pretty impressive, that wasn't even an option in old versions of windows.
__________________
My Comp:Alienware Aurora:Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.2, 6gb 1333mhz ram, gtx 470 EVGA, win 7 home 64 bit, ASUS Xonar STX (love it), Allen and Heath Xone:XD-53 Headphones

TV/Media Center - Panasonic TCP-54G25 Plasma, Pioneer 1021-K Receiver. Klipsch speakers that are too loud for my place. Xbox 360 - PS3 - Apple TV

Facebook
enoteware is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.