Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-10, 11:10 AM   #1
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

I don't know why I don't know how to do this.

Can I ask Microsoft for it?

Is there a safe, legal and reliable torrent?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 11:12 AM   #2
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

What version do you have now? OEM or retail?

EDIT: lol @ 'couch' in sig
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 11:19 AM   #3
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?



Retail.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 11:25 AM   #4
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

So you should have both x64 and x32 discs. Are you wanting to know if you can change it without reinstalling? If so, I don't think so, but I'm not 100% sure.

EDIT: Apparently not..

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...4-bit-faq.aspx

Quote:
Can I upgrade from a 32-bit version of Windows to a 64-bit version of Windows?

No. If you are currently running a 32-bit version of Windows, you can only perform an upgrade to another 32-bit version of Windows. Similarly, if you are running a 64-bit version of Windows, you can only perform an upgrade to another 64-bit version of Windows.
Just get 7 and be done with it
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 11:46 AM   #5
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

I am a little peeved that I only got a 32-bit DVD when I purchased it. It didn't much matter then because my rig had 3gb RAM, so I was good with 32-bit.

I spent $239 on this OS, and I like to wring every red cent out of a purchase that I can. I've learned how to optimize Vista quite well (with regards to services and UI), so I still like it as an OS.

Hm, I did just notice that there's a little "Need CDs instead of a DVD? Need 64-bit instead of 32-bit?" brochure. Looks like for a small charge I can get the 64-bit version.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 12:00 PM   #6
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

That's odd. In the UK both 7 and Vista came with both versions in the box. Having the retail version you should just be able to get the x64 version on a torrent or something and use your current key.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 12:07 PM   #7
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
That's odd. In the UK both 7 and Vista came with both versions in the box. Having the retail version you should just be able to get the x64 version on a torrent or something and use your current key.
Regarding a torrent I don't know where to look, as it seems to me that they are legal if you download them and you have a purchased key, but I'm sure people download them and apply cracked keys as well. There's a lot of grey area...

Where is a safe place to get a torrent for this which I could apply my legit Vista Home Premium key to? If it's safe, I wouldn't mind saving $15.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 12:18 PM   #8
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

All the Windows discs have a key or code of some kind (I remember searching for these when I was wanting a beta version of 7). It's a long jumble of letters and numbers, it's called a check code or something. If you search for that you'll find loads of torrent links, but I don't know where to find the code .

Someone like Nekro should be able to help you there. He's very clued up on most things PC.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-10, 12:25 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
Where is a safe place to get a torrent for this which I could apply my legit Vista Home Premium key to? If it's safe, I wouldn't mind saving $15.
PM me, and only ultimate came with both disc.

btw, the number is: AAEE3C04533899F9F8C4AE0C4250EF5FAFBE29A3 = vista sp2 x64
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-10, 12:30 PM   #10
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: (Vista) How do I upgrade my 32 bit Home Premium to 64 bit?

lol, see

You're a good fella Nekro
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 reviews starting tomorrow 3 November AthlonXP1800 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 147 07-25-09 11:41 PM
finally text AA rendering is accelerated now hyfans NVIDIA Linux 48 04-24-08 07:29 AM
Vista Home Premium x64 AutoPlay doesn´t work at all Wolfhound Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 8 07-04-07 11:28 AM
Retailers going to have headache with Vista SKU! AthlonXP1800 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 3 10-20-05 12:57 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.