Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-10, 04:45 AM   #1
freedom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default garbled screen inside KDE

I have this kind of screen output in KDE...

I have NVIDIA 7600gs and I tried latest 190.53 and beta 195.30 with same results.
Thing that confuse me most is that I don't have these troubles when I log into Enlightenment or LXDE environment.

Anyone have the same problem or solution?
freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-10, 05:27 AM   #2
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

Try to disable desktop effects (alt+shift+f12)
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-10, 06:44 AM   #3
freedom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

OK, I didn't wrote but, things are the same with composite disabled.
Maybe not the same amount but still have these glitches on screen.
freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-10, 06:54 AM   #4
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

Looks to me like there is something wrong with your card. KDE in 2d mode also uses some xrender acceleration.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-10, 07:33 AM   #5
freedom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

Well, here is what I tried...
I started Openbox as GUI (or Enlightenment or LXDE)
and start glxgears and also Google earth (which I would say is pretty demanding)
rotating half a globe and open browser and few other windows and I never have these noise on screen.

Maybe it's the card, but I wonder... is there any Graphic card test app or Video memory test for Linux?
freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-10, 10:31 AM   #6
Gillian00
Gillian
 
Gillian00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 34
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

the only time I had this issue, my graphic card was dead. . . sorry
__________________
acer 5920G - intel centrino - geforce 9500M GS
Archlinux x64 kernel 2.6.32
Gillian00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-10, 03:40 AM   #7
freedom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

I believe it's something regarding linux driver...
because, when I try this card in windows with latest drivers I have no troubles... I can start GoogleEarth... I can play games, lets say, FarCry in full resolution of my monitor 1680x1050 with maximum settings and have nothing like I have in Linux, specially KDE
If card is defective, shouldn't I have some troubles in the Windows also...
freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-10, 03:41 AM   #8
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

Check the frequencies if they are ok. Enable coolbits if they aren't already and try lowering clock.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-04-10, 02:11 AM   #9
freedom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

Coolbits enabled. I try lowering but also raising GPU/MEM freqs but no change in behavior.

I even installed gnome and compiz to try out with their composite effects and I have no glitches on the screen...

I tried 180.60 driver and then I have less noise on screen than with 190.53 or beta 195.30 (but I still have it)
freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-10, 08:02 AM   #10
ralph.van.etten
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

I think I have a similar problem: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=143909

It only appears as soon as opengl is used. (KDE seems to use opengl)
If I use X in failsafe xterm mode, everything works fine but as soon as I run glxinfo from this terminal, the screen is garbled.
ralph.van.etten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-10, 08:06 AM   #11
freedom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: garbled screen inside KDE

It's defcted video RAM... you may be sure.
I take my card on WIN machine and run PassMark video ram test...
and it failed

you can try the same
freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.