Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-10, 08:07 PM   #13
Ara23
Registered User
 
Ara23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 159
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
this is the reason why i upgraded. had 8800GTS and 1680x1050 monitor.
I'm planning on upgrading later in the year once all the fancy new stuff comes out
Ara23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-10, 08:20 PM   #14
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

It automatically selects the highest DX level you have. It's in a configurations file in your documents. You can manually set it to 11 but it should automatically detect it. There is likely not a big visual difference. Just some performance and shadow improvements.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-10, 10:50 PM   #15
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

I don't understand why people make games run so bad for benchmarks.

The results are pretty meaningless if the best card in the test is barely managing 30fps minimum. If the game is running like ass on all cards TURN DOWN THE FREAKING ANTIALIASING.

I'd rather see benchies at 1920x1200 with no AA and 4xAA. The game uses so many sprites and shader effects that 90% of the scenery is still aliased all to hell, so the huge performance hit isn't worth it at all.

I love to see massive charts like that that show a ton of information, but when someone puts that much time into something to show that 50 GPUs cannot run the game smoothly at a given setting, it seems like a waste of time.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 03:49 AM   #16
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ara23 View Post
I'm planning on upgrading later in the year once all the fancy new stuff comes out
That will be a good time, though even if you upgrade now, you should be pretty well set for a couple years
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 09:27 AM   #17
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

I need to try the BETA out with DX9 or just turn off AA/AF. But heck, AA/AF is almost completely off anyways.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 05:41 PM   #18
Ara23
Registered User
 
Ara23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 159
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
That will be a good time, though even if you upgrade now, you should be pretty well set for a couple years
Yeah, I should hope so! This is the only problem with PC gaming, having to upgrade every couple years and the price tag of it (vs about $500 for brand new consoles). I love it anyway.

In BC2 if I turn off EVERYTHING but the game, I get pretty smooth game play except in heavy firefights
Ara23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-10, 10:49 PM   #19
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Here's some benchmarks I did:


Systems benchmarked:
  1. Socket 939 Athlon x2 4800+ @ 2.4ghz, 3gb DDR400, ATI HD3850 running game in DX9 mode
  2. AM3 Athlon II x3 425 @ 2.7ghz, 4gb DDR2 1066, ATI HD4850 @ 625/1985 running game in DX9 mode
  3. AM3 Athlon II x3 425 @ 2.7ghz, 4gb DDR2 1066, ATI HD4850 @ 625/1985 running game in DX10 mode
  4. AM3 Athlon II x3 425 @ 2.7ghz, 4gb DDR2 1066, ATI HD4850 @ 660/2100 running game in DX10 mode

I only ran the x2/3850 setup in the first test to avoid it from being embarassed any further.


Test specs:

OS: Vista 64
Driver: Catalyst 10.2
Mipmap Quality: Highest
Vsync: Off
Catalyst AI: On
AA/AF: Set to application preference


Test 1:
1280x1024, all details @ lowest, AA/AF @ 1/1, HBAO Off
Min - Max - Average:
  • x2/3850 DX9:
    9 - 35 - 16.5
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX9:
    43 - 129 - 81.2
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX10:
    44 - 131 - 76.1
  • x3/4850 OC DX10:
    50 - 148 - 84.8


Test 2:
1280x1024, all details @ highest, AA/AF @ 1/1, HBAO Off
Min - Max - Average:
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX9:
    35 - 97 - 57.5
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX10:
    38 - 78 - 55.0
  • x3/4850 OC DX10:
    48 - 84 - 63.3


Test 3:
1280x1024, all details @ highest, AA/AF @ 1/1, HBAO On
Min - Max - Average:
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX9:
    28 - 97 43.2
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX10:
    33 - 41 - 36.4
  • x3/4850 OC DX10:
    28 - 67 - 39.1


Test 4:
1280x1024, all details @ highest, AA/AF @ 1/16, HBAO On
Min - Max - Average:
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX9:
    31 - 79 - 41.2
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX10:
    26 - 60 - 35.19
  • x3/4850 OC DX10:
    26 - 52 - 38.25


Test 5:

1280x1024, all details @ highest, AA/AF @ 2/16, HBAO On
Min - Max - Average:
DX10 Results Only
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX10:
    23 - 62 - 35.07
  • x3/4850 OC DX10:
    31 - 49 - 41.52


Test 6:
1280x1024, all details @ highest, AA/AF @ 4/16, HBAO On
Min - Max - Average:
DX10 Results Only
  • x3/4850 @ stock DX10:
    17 - 53 - 30.9
  • x3/4850 OC DX10:
    13 - 60 - 32.2
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-10, 11:08 AM   #20
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by onmikesline View Post
because there is no option
You have to change it from the settings.ini file under "My Documents".
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-28-10, 09:13 PM   #21
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

yeah, i think ill wait till 2 more days to see what fps i get,
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-10, 09:19 PM   #22
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks



Basically I can easily infer that you're trying to say that you've already pirated it.

I give you a pre-emptive thumbs-down. If I'm wrong, sorry, but it looks like a spade, so I'll call it a spade.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-10, 07:02 AM   #23
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

BF games are mainly MP and for that a key is needed

SP is normally slapped on so i cannot see the need to warez it
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-10, 10:45 AM   #24
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Is this the first DX11 game?
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.