Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-09, 02:46 PM   #13
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Still broken in 185.18.14

Please please please fix this!

Reminder: This problem doesn't occur with a single screen, only with xinerama dual screens!

oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 02:40 PM   #14
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldguy View Post
Still broken in 185.18.14

Please please please fix this!

Reminder: This problem doesn't occur with a single screen, only with xinerama dual screens!

Still broken with 185.18.36 !

Is anyone even looking at fixing this? It's been broken for a long time!
oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 09:02 PM   #15
whitslack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldguy View Post
Is anyone even looking at fixing this? It's been broken for a long time!
I don't think NVidia cares about Linux. I sure wish Intel would make dedicated graphics cards; their Linux drivers are vastly superior to NVidia's or AMD/ATI's, and I would buy an Intel card in a heartbeat if I only could.
whitslack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-09, 04:08 PM   #16
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Could someone from Nvidia at least acknowledge this problem?
oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-09, 02:09 PM   #17
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldguy View Post
Could someone from Nvidia at least acknowledge this problem?
It's been broken for a year. Is this even on the list of problems to be fixed?
oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-09, 02:30 PM   #18
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

I am sure they know about it. It probably just isn't at the top of their lists, cause it's not a pressing issue.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-09, 08:55 AM   #19
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I am sure they know about it. It probably just isn't at the top of their lists, cause it's not a pressing issue.
Among other things, this prevents being able to perform an effective screen lock. This is essential in most business environments.

Before the new drivers broke this, I used "vlock" in another session to accomplish a functional screen lock that prevents ctrl-alt-bksp breakout.

Now I have to completely terminate "X" and my running apps to securely lock the screen. This is unsatisfactory.
oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-09, 01:55 PM   #20
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

190.42 does not resolve the issue either!
oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-04-10, 02:03 PM   #21
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Angry Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Still broken in 190.53

Please fix this!
oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-10, 03:24 PM   #22
iSpy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

My dual monitors and separate X-screens have this bug, but then add "vga=0x317" in kernel startup command line - ctrl+alt+f1/f6 works!
iSpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-10, 03:37 PM   #23
oldguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 39
Smile Re: Can't ctrl-alt-F2 while running xinerama

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldguy View Post
Still broken in 190.53

Please fix this!
Fixed in 195.36.08 !!!



Thank you!!!!
oldguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.