Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-09, 09:16 PM   #1
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

Hello!

I just got a nvidia 9400 GT so I could hook up my two flat panels (22" wide and 19" 4:3). However, nvidia-settings will not detect the second monitor. They are both connected via the dvi ports.

Oddly, if I connect the second monitor with a dvi to vga adapter nvidia-setting will detect it, but only allow 1024x768.

I have attempted to try the beta drivers, but I just get a segfault when starting X.

nvidia 190.42-1
xorg-server 1.7.2

xorg.conf
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "X.org Configured"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Files"
	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
#	Load  "dri2"
#	Load  "dri"
#	Load  "dbe"
#	Load  "record"
#	Load  "glx"
#	Load  "extmod"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Acer"
	ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor1"
	VendorName   "BenQ"
	ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
	Identifier  "Card0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
	BoardName   "G96 [GeForce 9400 GT]"
	BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Card0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	Option         "TwinView" "1"
	Option         "ConnectedMonitor" "FPD,FPD"
    	Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0, DFP-1"
#    	Option         "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +1680+0, DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection
Any help would be much appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (39.6 KB, 126 views)
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-09, 10:25 PM   #2
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

Well I found a workaround with the help of chibi-wing @freenode #nvidia channel!

I had to add
Code:
Option   "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0, DFP-1"
which allowed for both monitors to be seen in nvidia-settings.

Then I had to acquire the EDID of the monitor on the second DVI port (by hooking it up to the first dvi port) and then added this to xorg.conf
Code:
Option	   "CustomEDID" "DFP-1:/etc/X11/edid-benq.bin"
So my final xorg.conf looks like
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    Option 	   "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0, DFP-1"
    Option	   "CustomEDID" "DFP-1:/etc/X11/edid-benq.bin"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1680+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Let me know if you need any information from me in order to help fix the bug.
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-09, 10:13 AM   #3
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

I just wanted to add that the beta drivers (195.22) do not fix the issue.
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-09, 10:35 PM   #4
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

This problem still persists with 190.53

xorg-server 1.7.3.901
nvidia-beta 190.53
nvidia-utils-beta 190.53

Please let me know if you need any information. I'll be more than happy to provide it.
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-09, 07:22 PM   #5
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

Same issue with 195.30
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-10, 01:02 AM   #6
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

Same issue with the 195.36.03 drivers. I must use a CustomEDID file for my second monitor to work.
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-10, 05:50 PM   #7
winggndm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

Pyther, before you rma that card, check this post first, you might not be the only one.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=140482
Its probably a bug in the drivers.
winggndm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-10, 07:06 PM   #8
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

Thanks for the warning, but you are too late. I shipped it this morning.
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-01-10, 10:09 PM   #9
pyther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Second Flat Screen (DFP-1) not being detected

And it was a good thing I went ahead and shipped it. The new card (replacement) works just fine. SOLVED
pyther is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.