Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-03, 06:14 PM   #1
Diezel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Finaland
Posts: 3
Default Twinview problem

Hello everyone, I've been readinig posts and it seems noone has these problems.
I have 2 CRT monitors, a Samsung 959 and an old Sony GDM20E20. I have the Sony connected to the DVI out, since it doesn't work very well before logging in to X.
When I start up my computer I need to use the Samsung to see Grub and I want it to be the primary display.
When X starts and the nvidia driver starts the DVI out is automaticlly selected as the primary display.
Does anyone know how to switch this so that the primary display would be in the standard CRT out?
Thanks in advance,


Diezel
Diezel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 09:13 AM   #2
Prommy
King of the hill
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
Send a message via ICQ to Prommy
Default

The monitor defined as screen 0 in XF86Config is the one used as primary display. If you attach your XF86Config someone can probably point out what's wrong in it.

Btw, I've never heard of a CRT monitor with DVI port before, are you quite sure that's right?

/Daniel
Prommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 09:33 AM   #3
Infernall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Cool

I have 2 CRT's connected to standard VGA out, and the DVI out via DVI-VGA converter, with a 5200FX.

I have twinview working right now, though with very poor xinerama support.
Infernall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 10:51 AM   #4
Diezel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Finaland
Posts: 3
Default

Here you can find my XF86Config
XF86Config
Thanks for your replys.


Diezel
Diezel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-03, 02:48 PM   #5
Diezel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Finaland
Posts: 3
Default

So noone has any help concerning this?
Hasn't anyone really had this problem before. Stunned
Diezel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-03, 02:38 AM   #6
Prommy
King of the hill
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
Send a message via ICQ to Prommy
Default

Hmmm... Have you tried fiddling with the "ConnectedMonitor" option? I think the logical thing to put there would be not "CRT, CRT", but "CRT, DFP" since your second monitor is connected to the dvi port.

Another way of getting more control over what is displayed what is by skipping those "SecondMonitor" stuff and instead setting up two different "Device" sections. I'll attach my own XF86Config (renaming it to XF86Config.txt because of these stupid forum rules) so you can see what I mean. Difference is I have a tv on my second screen.

/Daniel
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (2.1 KB, 285 views)
Prommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-03, 09:36 AM   #7
justinc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 26
Default

I am not sure if you can switch which head is "primary" but you can change LeftOf to RightOf, and maybe change the position of the monitors around so that the left one (which gets the task bars and login, at least on Redhat) is the other one.

I think most people use identical monitors so it is not a problem.
justinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-03, 06:00 PM   #8
mjf
GF FX5200
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to mjf
Default Share the XF86config!

Help a brother out, Thats exactly what I am trying to get to work.

Quote:
Originally posted by Infernall
I have 2 CRT's connected to standard VGA out, and the DVI out via DVI-VGA converter, with a 5200FX.

I have twinview working right now, though with very poor xinerama support.
mjf is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First monitor is black when going to virtual console, when using twinView zeBarbu NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-03 09:35 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.