Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-10, 12:56 PM   #601
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

just played a round now, did not get kicked.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 12:57 PM   #602
Delbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Station X
Posts: 517
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
i found some servers i get punkbuster kicked, and some i dont. try different ones.
Sry... but what does this mean. Surely PB is PB. whats with the lottery ?
Needs to be sorted quickly if this is the case. Never had this issue with other games...
__________________
Q6600@3.6G (1.35v), 480 SoC (870/2000), 4Gig Mem, Abit IP35 Pro, Corsair HX620, 1x250Gig (OS), 2x250Gig (Games), P182. Win7... 290.53... http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/
Delbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:00 PM   #603
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delbert View Post
Sry... but what does this mean. Surely PB is PB. whats with the lottery ?
Needs to be sorted quickly if this is the case. Never had this issue with other games...
Well it means that service is flimsy right now, and sometimes it does what it's supposed to, and sometimes it doesn't. In my experience, it's about 50/50. I think it will be sorted eventually. Tons of players are reporting this.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:01 PM   #604
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Laguna Alta + conquest + 32 players = Awesome

I managed to play a good 2 hours last night without any kicks or errors. I am loving this game and no doubt it will keep me busy untill MoH and BF3.

R.I.P CoD:MW2
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:03 PM   #605
Delbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Station X
Posts: 517
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

okay... thnx.
I am testing it on servers with 0 players on them. Do not want to upset a good in progress frag....
One good point is performance.... looks great and get good FPS....
__________________
Q6600@3.6G (1.35v), 480 SoC (870/2000), 4Gig Mem, Abit IP35 Pro, Corsair HX620, 1x250Gig (OS), 2x250Gig (Games), P182. Win7... 290.53... http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/
Delbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:06 PM   #606
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
Well it means that service is flimsy right now, and sometimes it does what it's supposed to, and sometimes it doesn't. In my experience, it's about 50/50. I think it will be sorted eventually. Tons of players are reporting this.
had no issue with PB yet, but if PB gives you trouble remember that PB is sensetive to overlays, and can cause issues, forcing triple buffer can cause issues, since you are altering directx calls.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:08 PM   #607
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Finally got on last night for a few rounds. Lots of fun, still the performance isn't great. Somewhat choppy frames for me, 1920x1200 all high, 4AA. 195.62's IIRC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:20 PM   #608
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
Finally got on last night for a few rounds. Lots of fun, still the performance isn't great. Somewhat choppy frames for me, 1920x1200 all high, 4AA. 195.62's IIRC.
Is that in DX10 Meth ?

If it is I'd suggest lowering settings to Shadows med, HBAO off, 2xAA and with a FOV of 74. I use these settings and get inbetween 60 and 90 fps, using fraps i see my fps never drops below 60 which i am quite happy with and with very little loss to image quality.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-07-10, 01:25 PM   #609
nV`andrew
Akrynym
 
nV`andrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 2,351
Send a message via AIM to nV`andrew Send a message via MSN to nV`andrew Send a message via Skype™ to nV`andrew
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

I was kind of confused, do i type in fov=74 or fov=100?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P || Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 w/ Zalman CNPS9500 HSF || Kingston HyperX SLi Certified [4x1GB] DDR2-1066 ||
eVGA GeForce GTX460 SuperClocked Edition || 2x Seagate 120GB[240GB] Barracuda SATA || 1x Seagate 1000GB Storage
OCZ GameXStream 700W || X-Fi XtremeMusic || Sennheiser HD555's || Antec 900 || Logitech MX518 || Saitek Eclipse II Samsung 24" HDTV/LCD 1920x1200 ||
nV`andrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:33 PM   #610
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

For a resolution of 1920x1200 a horizontal fov of 100 would be optimal. However, in the settings.ini the FOV setting changes the vertical FOV so using a FOV calculator 100 horizontal FOV = 74 vertical FOV.

Short answer type in 74
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:46 PM   #611
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logical View Post
Is that in DX10 Meth ?
Uh, not sure; whatever steam loads by default.

Quote:
If it is I'd suggest lowering settings to Shadows med, HBAO off, 2xAA and with a FOV of 74. I use these settings and get inbetween 60 and 90 fps, using fraps i see my fps never drops below 60 which i am quite happy with and with very little loss to image quality.
Yes HBAO is already off, but I haven't futzed with the FOV at all. I'll try lowering shadows I guess.

Is SLI working on this game???
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 01:56 PM   #612
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Official Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Thread

Not too sure if SLI is working or not Meth. If you have SLI then there really shouldn't be a prob running it at full settings perhaps with HBAO off and 4xAA (if it is working on BFBC2). I'm guessing a combination of future drivers and patches for bfbc2 will sort out some of the choppiness for most people.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.