Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-10, 03:40 PM   #37
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

FYI uninstalling AC3 filter and setting audio sampling rate to native 44.1kHz gives huge fps boost to those of you with onboard sound and slower processors
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 08:34 PM   #38
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman0 View Post
FYI uninstalling AC3 filter and setting audio sampling rate to native 44.1kHz gives huge fps boost to those of you with onboard sound and slower processors
sorry what? I have onboard sound currently....What do I have to uninstall?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-10, 11:33 PM   #39
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

don't worry about it you've got an i7
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-10, 01:57 PM   #40
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

ahh ok thanks
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-10, 02:15 PM   #41
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

i have a quad 6600, would it help if i changed something on my x-fi?
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-10, 04:53 PM   #42
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

What's the benchmark that you guys are using? is there a 3rd party program like with crysis or is it built in like steams?

I got the game this weekend and am willing to run some tests with 4 and 8gb of RAM.
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-10, 05:13 PM   #43
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

It'd sure be nice if there was an official one. I've been just using FRAPS in full 32 player rush servers
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-10, 07:15 PM   #44
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

@rage

I have an old version of FRAPS that doesn't work in BC2 .... I'll try and think of some way to do it... but I don't think it'd be very accurate doing that anyway since the action varies so much between matches
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-14-10, 08:57 PM   #45
Holy Smoke
Registered User
 
Holy Smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 179
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
And I really want to see some results in here for people with 8gb ram.
System RAM has little or nothing to do with it but video RAM makes a somewhat big difference. You should try putting shadows on lowest and turning off HBAO as those are the biggest overall performance killers by far. The shadows eat into your video memory and fillrate while HBAO takes shader performance. Those two make an average difference of ~40fps vs. 60-70fps on the GTX260 in my system. AA makes almost no difference on the GTX260 whereas it made a big difference on my 8800GTS, suggesting that memory could be the bottleneck. Since your friend has a 1gb card then all of these combined could definitely account for the difference to your 512mb card.

Your mate isn't explicitly telling an untruth because performance in the game wavers immensely depending on how much is going on. He could quite possibly be getting a fluid framerate in a 16 player match (though 80-90fps is an exaggerration) at those settings.
__________________
It's better to be dead and cool than alive and uncool.
Holy Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 01:43 PM   #46
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holy Smoke View Post
System RAM has little or nothing to do with it but video RAM makes a somewhat big difference. You should try putting shadows on lowest and turning off HBAO as those are the biggest overall performance killers by far. The shadows eat into your video memory and fillrate while HBAO takes shader performance. Those two make an average difference of ~40fps vs. 60-70fps on the GTX260 in my system. AA makes almost no difference on the GTX260 whereas it made a big difference on my 8800GTS, suggesting that memory could be the bottleneck. Since your friend has a 1gb card then all of these combined could definitely account for the difference to your 512mb card.

Your mate isn't explicitly telling an untruth because performance in the game wavers immensely depending on how much is going on. He could quite possibly be getting a fluid framerate in a 16 player match (though 80-90fps is an exaggerration) at those settings.
You're right on many points... but you'd be surprised how big of an effect system RAM has on the battlefield series. I haven't tested with 4gb, but its very possible given the right system conditions to make the difference between 4gb and 8gb noticeable.... but rare

I originally had a P4 (3ghz), 1gb of DDR400 and a 6800 GT (ultra speeds). It was a hell of a system at the time. BF2 came out and I gave it a shot. I had horrible performance. Unacceptable at the resolutions I wanted to play at. Anytime I cranked it up to 1600x1200 it'd choke to like 11 fps. I borrowed a friend's 1gb and threw it in my rig for 2gb and I was running smooth at 50 fps at the same settings.... it mattered, alot.

This difference you're seeing between 4gb and 8gb though would be a hard one to hit because you'd have to be running very close to the 4gb limit (3.3gb or so) before you load BC2 for it to choke with 4gb.
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 02:54 PM   #47
Holy Smoke
Registered User
 
Holy Smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 179
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

Ya, I remember that issue with BF2. It topped out at around 1.3gb when it first came out, but they managed to bring it down to 8-900mb with later patches (if I remember correctly).

It's still a quite different scenario with Bad Company 2. The maximum limit that a 32-bit game can use on a 32-bit Windows is only 2 gigabytes (rather than 4) due to the way that Windows handles memory. The game simply doesn't have access to the rest.
__________________
It's better to be dead and cool than alive and uncool.
Holy Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-10, 03:36 PM   #48
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Benchmarks

I'm down to 2 GB at the moment due to my 2x2 GB sticks going bad. I tried out BC2 just out of curiosity (not expecting it to run well) and actually it seemed to be not too bad. I wouldn't suggest it but it isn't like other games like Crysis and GTA IV that hog tons of ram. This is with Windows 7 which handles 2 GB tons better than Vista though.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.