Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-10, 04:08 AM   #25
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

It's really annoying you can't modify that stuff separately... what were they thinking?

Perhaps there is an ini method.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 04:09 AM   #26
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

From Steam forum:

you can adjust pretty much every setting (including mouse sensitivity) here:

Users\<USER NAME>\AppData\Local\4A Games\Metro 2033\user.cfg

you can also adjust the horrible default FOV, which is 45 (wtf were they thinking?).

you can also put in:

g_global_god on
g_god on
g_unlimitedammo on

lol, just make sure u make the user.cfg file read only.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 04:47 AM   #27
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

45!?!?!...holy crap thats terrible...atleast they added the options in the cfg...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 06:15 AM   #28
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

I am running max setting at dx10 and had my cp to enhance at 8xAA and never saw it drop to single digits but I didn't get to play too much last night. Guess DX11 turned out like Early Dx10 not worth the performance cost for the little graphics improvement.

I don't think the FOV is at 45 but rather at a point in the game it is forced to 45, check out the command in the user.cfg

Code:
sick_camera 0.
sick_fov 45.
sick_mblur 0.
sick_mouse 0.
sick_slowmo 0.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 08:32 AM   #29
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Hehe

This game is a well done console port, not the other way around like they claimed. Lots of things are just weird. No Quick Saves, No Full Body even though at times it seems like it should have it. Video Option choices are limited to Low, Med, High and Very High (can't configure them). No Walk option, must crouch. Forces me to use Wired X360 Gamepad and only prompts me with its buttons during tutorial even though Keyboard works fine.

What a load of crap these developers spewed. It's like Just Cause2, only thing PC-centric are the game engine features, not the actual gameplay. Lame. And holy crap, FOV of 45!!!!
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 08:45 AM   #30
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

Like I stated, I don't believe the actual gameplay FOV is 45, that would be too close (unless its really well done since I get headaches with Borderlands default FOV). I think its a scene in the game that changes the FOV.

My main gripe was the fact that it forces me to use the controller if its plugged in. I mean even if I use the K&M as long as its plugged in the game shows the prompts and even during some scenes I had to use the controller (like skipping scenes or clearing a tutorial prompt).
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 08:55 AM   #31
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
My main gripe was the fact that it forces me to use the controller if its plugged in. I mean even if I use the K&M as long as its plugged in the game shows the prompts and even during some scenes I had to use the controller (like skipping scenes or clearing a tutorial prompt).
I noticed this too - my wireless is normally off but I had just finished playing some AC2 and it was left on when I noticed Metro had unlocked. After loading, having only the option to use the controller scared me - I thought it didn't use keyboard! Shutting down my controller fixed that at least.

As for performance, I'm getting about 40fps in town (haven't ventured out yet - will probably start over later) at 1920x1200 default High settings with AAA and 4xAF. I played around with VSync because I noticed a lot of screen tearing, since the FPS is already low, it didn't seem to change anything FPS-wise, but the mouse didn't seem as smooth. I may have to forgo VSync (forced through nHancer).

I'm a little leery of tackling the .cfg file though - this looks like a good candidate for a Tweakguide article and I'll watch to see what they adjust and how it looks/performs. But if it stays around 35-40 even through battles, it'll be playable. Not even sure if I should risk Very High... maybe with no AAA?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 09:12 AM   #32
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

I would like to just disable the DOF. It's weird that its during cut scenes but once the gameplay loads its not as present.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-16-10, 09:24 AM   #33
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

What are you guys impressions of the actual gameplay?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 09:56 AM   #34
Gaco
L4D & DoW2 ftw!
 
Gaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,143
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

Yeah enough whining already
__________________
---MAIN GAMING RIG from MID SEPTEMBER 2007, MOBO+CASE+FANS UPGRADED APRIL 2009, GRAPHICSCARD UPGRADED MARCH 2010---
Case: Antec P182 case + 3x 120mm Scythe Slipstream SY1225SL12M @ ~900 RPM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe
CPU: Intel Core2 Q6600@3.3ghz w. Noctua NH-U12P
RAM: 4Gb Crucial Tracer PC-8500
Graphics: XFX Radeon HD 5970 Black Edition
Harddiscs: 2xRaptorX 150gb 10.000 RPM in RAID0
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sound: Sennheiser HD600 Headphones + headamp
Keyboard: Logitech DiNovo Edge
Mouse: Razor Orochi
Monitor: Samsung 2232BW (22" 1680*1050)
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64bit
Gaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 09:57 AM   #35
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
What are you guys impressions of the actual gameplay?
The little I played it was fun. It seems very scripted though, much like Half-Life 2.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-10, 10:08 AM   #36
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Official Metro 2033 Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
The little I played it was fun. It seems very scripted though, much like Half-Life 2.
Grey won't get it then....
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.