Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-10, 05:56 AM   #13
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
Indeed. But it would mean swapping from a tri SLI bridge to a dual SLI bridge to use it for PhysX.
Can't you just set it via the nvidia control panel?
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 06:09 AM   #14
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toss3 View Post
Can't you just set it via the nvidia control panel?
Yesh, sort of, but if you've got 3 cards in SLI you can't use one of the cards as a PhysX card. You have to bridge just two of them so the third card that's gonna be used for PhysX isn't bridged to the other two. Otherwise the PhysX and gfx load will be shared over all three.

Two GTX480's in SLI and a GTX260 for PhysX is a nice combo. It's how I'll be rollin if I find I need another GTX480.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 06:10 AM   #15
Iruwen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 186
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

I'd rather wait for a GTX 480 with 3GB of VRAM since some Crysis Mods already bump the requirements to 2GB+. I don't see a reason to go Tri-SLI unless hunting for benchmark highscores.
Iruwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 06:12 AM   #16
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iruwen View Post
I'd rather wait for a GTX 480 with 3GB of VRAM since some Crysis Mods already bump the requirements to 2GB+. I don't see a reason to go Tri-SLI unless hunting for benchmark highscores.
Metro on 3 screens in 3D??

Would 3 be enough?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 06:48 AM   #17
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
Metro on 3 screens in 3D??

Would 3 be enough?
Nope, but that's why dual-Fermis are on the way!
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 07:21 AM   #18
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

I wonder if they'll make a dual Fermi card with a 3Gb frame buffer (6Gb total) that can work in tri-sli, so that we can have up to 18Gb of GDDR5 sitting in our systems.

You'd probably need at least two 1200W PSUs to run it though.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 09:42 AM   #19
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

I think 4 GPU's is the max ATM. I've not heard of any plans to increase it.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 10:15 AM   #20
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

I think maybe I'll get 3 GTX 470's in TRI-SLI, still should be killer, don't you think., I play at 1920/1200, thats my native resoulution on my Dell U2709W.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-22-10, 10:17 AM   #21
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasedww View Post
I think maybe I'll get 3 GTX 470's in TRI-SLI, still should be killer, don't you think.
Think two GTX 480 in SLI would serve you better as tri-sli doesn't really scale that well.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 10:31 AM   #22
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

So two GTX 480's SLI, One GTX 280 for phsyics, as I already have three gtx 280's.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 02:10 PM   #23
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

I'm getting three 470's or three 480's, I think you would be able to overclock some of those 470's a little bit.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-10, 02:42 PM   #24
Fotis
Radeforce GTX7970
 
Fotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,346
Default Re: Tri-SLI Fermi for Physx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Agreed. But I think even two 480s will be up to the task, including PhysX.
I would think its depends on a few factors.What if you use 3D vision + multimonitor along with Physx?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8GHz|Corsair H50|MSI X58 Platinum|3x2GB Mushkin DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20|Gigabyte Radeon 7970 OC 3GB windforce|Samsung SSD 830 256GB/Intel SSD X25M 80GB|Seagate Ext. 2TB eSata|Corsair TX 750W|Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 7000|Silverstone Grandia GD-01 MX Black|Dell UltraSharp U2412M| Windows 7 x64 Pro
Fotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.