Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-10, 04:35 PM   #37
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

How is it, some gains with the latest drivers? Is SSAA already supported via nHancer?
How does GTA do, you now have the needed vidram, without the need of the ristriction hack, which loads the textures bad anyway.

I'm planning top get two myself. I think in a few months it will be fighting the HD5970 in stead of the 5870, due driver improvements.

This thing excels in dx11 with high AA.

Fermi is a promising base for further GPU's. It looks very futureproof with the strong tessalation perf.
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 06:24 PM   #38
CainSyris
This is MY boomstick!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 179
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotis View Post
Where are your 3 GTX480s jAkUp?

It's almost enough to give one pause...
CainSyris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 07:10 PM   #39
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=DVS=- View Post
Random stuff that nobody cares , just me

Not trying to go off topic or derail the thread. But I am currious as to why your results are so low?

I ran this on one of my 5870's.

Last edited by Roadhog; 04-12-10 at 02:38 PM.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 07:19 PM   #40
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

That's the nature of the benchmark the way its made. Will try 0.45 brb.
Got same scores with 0.45 as 0.44.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 07:50 PM   #41
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

10 minutes of Furmark , Stock eVga 480 GTX , Fan AUTO 67% ~2550rpm. Noise was quiet wind shhh , my 120mm case fans were louder .
This is with two monitors attached.

__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 08:00 PM   #42
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

does that mean it went from 76c idle? to 90cload?
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 08:11 PM   #43
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Just Cause 2 . In below benchmark flyby's it feels smooth and fluid , however its action game,so i turn off High Res Shadows and set Shadows Quality to medium , to get avg ~60 in dark tower when playing.
Oh this is at 1920x1080 @120hz.

The Dark Tower = 45.52


Desert Sunrise = 60.85


Concrete Jungle = 37.29
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 08:15 PM   #44
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
does that mean it went from 76c idle? to 90cload?
In short yes. If you boot your PC and don't play games idle is ~50c , once you exit a game load will settle down to ~70c, fan speed goes down to quick IMHO when there is no GPU load.

In games like Just Cause 2 , it stays around 85c and ~60% fan. In my case anyway. Comparing to my GTX 295 temps and noise is lower, but not by alot, considering its single GPU its not very nice... but not deal breaker .
Edit: This is with two monitors attached.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-10-10, 08:21 PM   #45
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

I'd be pretty upset to buy a $500 video card (from either manufacturer) and have to turn down shadows in a game to get 60fps.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 08:33 PM   #46
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Talking Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Unigen 2.0 1920x1080 4xAA 16xAF Tessellation Normal , Pretty .

__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 08:36 PM   #47
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick123w View Post
I'd be pretty upset to buy a $500 video card (from either manufacturer) and have to turn down shadows in a game to get 60fps.
The games are just too damned demanding I tell ya

And throwing things like 3D Vision Surround into the mix will be a nightmare for anyone doing that... even 3x GTX 480's won't keep up for many games..

I'm starting to think that 2x GTX 480 won't be enough to keep up the 120fps required for normal 3D Vision on my Alienware AW2310 on many new games... I'm starting to think I should get three GTX 480's instead...

But my Antec 1200 case won't fit 'em Only has 7 slots and I need my sound card in there too

Are there any mobos which can do Tri-SLI and sound card on a 7-slot case? Seems possible (2+2+2+1)? I think it's the top slot which is the problem as most mobos don't have any PCIe slot for the top?
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 08:41 PM   #48
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Yeah id like a free card that does 60fps in every game to. That be nice , sadly we don't live in dream world.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.