Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-06-10, 09:26 PM   #13
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

Interesting... That at least gives you something to work with.

I'd bet that could be the issue then. If you're maxing out one core with that little bit of data then something is definitely wrong. My Althon XP 1800+ can move 40 - 50MBps (320 - 400mbits) before it runs out of CPU. That pc is using a Linksys gig card.

Here are some options you can test then.

Flow Control - Disabled

IP Checksum Offload
Large Send Offload V1
Large Send Offload V2
TCP Checksum Offload
UDP Checksum Offload

All of these are RX & TX enabled on mine.

Receive Side Scaling - Enabled

Those should be all of the default options.

Also, check the Jumbo Packet setting. It should be 1514 by default. If you have Jumbo Frames set on one pc and not on another, weird things can happen. It might also be possible that your switch doesn't support jumbo frames. If both are set to ~ 1500 you can try to up that value on both making sure they use the same value.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-10, 03:10 PM   #14
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

Does the Local Area Connection report a "1 Gbps" link speed in the status window?

EDIT: Also try turning off IPv6 and QoS, see if it helps.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-10, 01:57 PM   #15
Best_siten
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Thumbs up wow its very interesting

Wow thats seems really interesting. Thanks for sharing ...
Best_siten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 04:28 AM   #16
tytanick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

hmm, i checked again cpu usage and take a look.....
I dont have jumpo packet option in nvidia driver and also dont have it in standard windows 7 driver......
As yu see, graph with NETWORK shows max 100mbits, and Local Area Conn shows 1Gbit and uses only 50 mbits
I thing that i sould buy external pci network gigabit card, because there is no solution to this problem - i will wait meaby a one more week - see if anybody will figure something out

As you see i dont have option where can i set MTU (jumbo size), but i will try to set this from cmd line.
But first i need to set the same mtu under my linux ftp server (and ifconfig eth0 mtu 4000 doesnt working so i have to check this later




tytanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 07:50 AM   #17
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

I was looking in the NVIDIA folder and it looks like I did install nforce drivers. I have the 15.35 and the 15.51 downloaded. What's interesting is that I'm using the older driver from the 15.35 package for my network, so I'm wondering if maybe I had the same issue as you did and don't remember.

Try downloading this slightly older driver, uninstalling all of your nforce drivers, and install this one.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_...bit_15.35.html

Here is what my networking properties look like.







I've been doing some searching though and I'm wondering if NVIDIA put those options in for your nic or not. It is supposed to support Jumbo frames but from what I've been reading the XP drivers never got the option for it.

Can you see what your Device ID is?



It should be the PCI\VEN_10DE\DEV_****

The last 4 numbers will let me see what options should be installed according to the inf file.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 08:30 AM   #18
tytanick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

there's been some progress when i installed those drivers you sent me

Now i have ~15MBytes/s (its 120mbits/s) - 3 times better than before, but now i have higher CPU USAGE , take a look. (i also installed nvidia controll panel, but i will uninstall and take screenshots of those info you wanted.... give me few minutes)


tytanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 08:46 AM   #19
tytanick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

hmm, i just saw that ....
so i have 120 mbit/s when i am uploading something TO the server via ftp
but i have 500-600 mbits when i am downloadin something from the server, and i double checked that server couldnt casched this file in memory !
So its MUCH better than before but still there is to low upload rate
tytanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-10, 04:31 PM   #20
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

Try playing with the flow control setting. Mine is currently disabled but you have RX enabled. Might try all of the settings and see if one of them does the trick.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-11-10, 05:19 PM   #21
tytanick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

i triend many times those options, it doesnt changes anything, only 1 option, priority and VLAN as i renember - if i set this to ON - then i couldnt even connect to server. Rest of the options doeasnt changes anything

Now i have 100mbits uload and 100-500mbits download
Eh.... - Meaby i will buy this external PCI gigabit card and see what hapens
tytanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-10, 06:03 AM   #22
tytanick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

hi guys again.
Accually the problem still presists

Still some files have transfer 50mbits and some 300mbits.

I booted ubuntu live on my computer and transfers went up to 500mbit/s

i even bought another external 1gbit lan card, and the same thing (slow transfer)
(i am surethat this is nothing to do with slow hardrive !)
so, i think that this is not a nvidia drivers problem but windows 7 64bit problem !

still dont know the sollution for this problem
tytanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-10, 02:25 AM   #23
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

DO you have more than 1 HDD in your computer? Copy a file from one to the other and see if its faster...

-Disable Windows firewall (services.msc), QoS RSVP, and/or any other security software
-Crappy cat5 cables can limit your speed.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-10, 09:06 AM   #24
tytanick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: SLOW 1 gbit LAN nforce 650i

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n View Post
DO you have more than 1 HDD in your computer? Copy a file from one to the other and see if its faster...

-Disable Windows firewall (services.msc), QoS RSVP, and/or any other security software
-Crappy cat5 cables can limit your speed.
Yes i have 2 drives, but i told you that when i run linux instead windows - everything is fine ! - i have ~300-500 mbit transfer. so cable, disc cannot cause this !

i cant turn off windows firewall because lan doesnt work when i do that
tytanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.