Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-10, 05:14 AM   #361
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash View Post
Be careful guys, my bottom 470 died last night.

My gut told me to hold onto two of my 5870s when I RMAed the third for a refund. Glad I did.
That's sad. What do you suspect is the cause? Heat related? Man, I'm so gonna water cool mine as my temps hover around 84-90C with fan speed hitting 90+% when benchmarking, which is very noisy.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 06:03 AM   #362
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash View Post
Be careful guys, my bottom 470 died last night.

My gut told me to hold onto two of my 5870s when I RMAed the third for a refund. Glad I did.
Uggggh. The great quality control from Nvidia continues?

But to be fair, I haven't seen too many die on people so far. Sorry you had that happen to you.

I did get a chance to check out 3D on a Samsung 3DTV over the weekend on a BluRay. Pretty cool stuff, but I'm going to wait until the technology advances a bit before I invest in it.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 07:25 AM   #363
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post
Uggggh. The great quality control from Nvidia continues?

But to be fair, I haven't seen too many die on people so far. Sorry you had that happen to you.

I did get a chance to check out 3D on a Samsung 3DTV over the weekend on a BluRay. Pretty cool stuff, but I'm going to wait until the technology advances a bit before I invest in it.
yea I think I've seen 2 480 GTX and now one 470. And with the temps on air it doesn't suprise me.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 07:31 AM   #364
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
yea I think I've seen 2 480 GTX and now one 470. And with the temps on air it doesn't suprise me.
My 8800 ran for nearly three years in my computer at the same temps, and it's still running in my brother's and hasn't gone bad. The temps most likely didn't have much to do with why those three cards bricked.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 09:54 AM   #365
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

GTX 480 875/1750/2000 1.125v, gotta love water cooling

__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 01:43 PM   #366
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

I figured out what was wrong with my Unigine Heaven benchmark. I disabled PhysX and disabled my second monitor, and I ran it again at 1080p at 8xAA and got 58 fps. Before I was only getting 51 fps at 4xAA at the same rez.

Maybe it was either PhysX or the second monitor that was causing the problem, but its weird because its definitely not affecting my 3DMark Vantage score (37000). And thats only with my 965 at stock voltages OC'ed to 3.74 GHz.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 09:50 PM   #367
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
I figured out what was wrong with my Unigine Heaven benchmark. I disabled PhysX and disabled my second monitor, and I ran it again at 1080p at 8xAA and got 58 fps. Before I was only getting 51 fps at 4xAA at the same rez.

Maybe it was either PhysX or the second monitor that was causing the problem, but its weird because its definitely not affecting my 3DMark Vantage score (37000). And thats only with my 965 at stock voltages OC'ed to 3.74 GHz.
There shouldn't be any difference between PhysX on/off. When I first got the card, PhysX was disable because I had Nvidia Game System Software still installed, which broken the PhysX, but my Heaven score was the same.

BTW, did you have to boost the voltage to run at 800/2000 stable? I'm currently running at default voltage, and most of time I would get a "d3d11 AppWindow::do swap(): device removed" error right about scene 14 of 26. This only happens in Heaven benchmark, and if I lower the memory clocks a bit, say to 1950, I would not get that error.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-10, 11:50 PM   #368
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro View Post
There shouldn't be any difference between PhysX on/off. When I first got the card, PhysX was disable because I had Nvidia Game System Software still installed, which broken the PhysX, but my Heaven score was the same.

BTW, did you have to boost the voltage to run at 800/2000 stable? I'm currently running at default voltage, and most of time I would get a "d3d11 AppWindow::do swap(): device removed" error right about scene 14 of 26. This only happens in Heaven benchmark, and if I lower the memory clocks a bit, say to 1950, I would not get that error.
Then it must have been the second monitor somehow, or maybe it was because I had monitoring software like CoreTemp and Precision running as well alongside the benchmark before, and I didn't have any of that when I ran it on a single monitor.

I didn't have to boost my voltage to get it to go at 800/2000. But I have the GTX 480 SCs, so perhaps they are of better overclocking potential than the vanillas.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-03-10, 11:54 PM   #369
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Just got my 2 470's these things rock, but they do run a little hot.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-10, 12:22 AM   #370
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
Then it must have been the second monitor somehow, or maybe it was because I had monitoring software like CoreTemp and Precision running as well alongside the benchmark before, and I didn't have any of that when I ran it on a single monitor.

I didn't have to boost my voltage to get it to go at 800/2000. But I have the GTX 480 SCs, so perhaps they are of better overclocking potential than the vanillas.
Oh yeah, you got the SC's. Possibly slightly higher default voltage than a vanillas?
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-10, 03:25 AM   #371
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Well that was premature. It seems my SLi bridge went bad out of the blue. I had an extra and tried it, now I am up and running again. Whew.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-10, 09:51 AM   #372
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Undervolting / overclocking fun!

.988v @ 800mhz / 1600mhz shader



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.