Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-10, 10:04 AM   #373
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Is that MSI Kombustor the best program to use for artifact testing? Or is ATITool just as good? I've only been using ATITool.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-10, 10:22 AM   #374
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX View Post
Is that MSI Kombustor the best program to use for artifact testing? Or is ATITool just as good? I've only been using ATITool.
Its basically Furmark. Pushes the GPUs harder than anything else out there.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-10, 11:33 AM   #375
odin20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: way up north
Posts: 259
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Kombustor may hit the ram hard but unless i put on 8xaa it doesnt properly tell me stability.

I use it as a weak guide but thats it, i run heaven 2.0 and then battlefield bad company 2 maxed out to see stability.

The reason i say this is because with my 480's i could run kombustor, metro 2033 etc at 840 core and 2k ram all day long but will crash in heaven 2.0 at the dragon. Then i moved down to 825 core and 2k on the ram and could run heaven, metro 2033 and kombustor with 1.12 volts but i crashed and got a driver stopped responding thing when playing battlefield bad company 2.
So now im down to 815 core and 2k ram on both cards and its totally stable in all environments including battlefield bad company 2.
So im happy (wish i could get 840 back) but one of my cards is not a massive overclocker and thats ok as im only running 1.088 volts now too.
Temps were never my issue as i always stayed under 80 degrees.
Anyway long story short kombustor is good for finding a rough area to start at but not the only thing you need to use when overclocking.
__________________
I7 940-4.2ghz Prime stable 4.0 daily running.
Asus p6t x58
6 gb OCZ gold ddr3 1600
1k Corsair ps
Gs 1000 case
Extreme 120 push/pull config.
2x MSI 480gtx sli- 815-1630-2000 oc on both.
odin20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-10, 12:30 PM   #376
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by odin20 View Post
Kombustor may hit the ram hard but unless i put on 8xaa it doesnt properly tell me stability.

I use it as a weak guide but thats it, i run heaven 2.0 and then battlefield bad company 2 maxed out to see stability.

The reason i say this is because with my 480's i could run kombustor, metro 2033 etc at 840 core and 2k ram all day long but will crash in heaven 2.0 at the dragon. Then i moved down to 825 core and 2k on the ram and could run heaven, metro 2033 and kombustor with 1.12 volts but i crashed and got a driver stopped responding thing when playing battlefield bad company 2.
So now im down to 815 core and 2k ram on both cards and its totally stable in all environments including battlefield bad company 2.
So im happy (wish i could get 840 back) but one of my cards is not a massive overclocker and thats ok as im only running 1.088 volts now too.
Temps were never my issue as i always stayed under 80 degrees.
Anyway long story short kombustor is good for finding a rough area to start at but not the only thing you need to use when overclocking.
Crysis pushes the card harder than BF BC2.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-10, 09:34 AM   #377
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Got my eVGA GTX 470 yesterday. Pretty impressive card, I must say, especially since the 470 was $350 and I sold my GTX 285 for $300. I'm not seeing a whole lot of reason to possibly step up to the 480.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-10, 10:15 AM   #378
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by odin20 View Post
Kombustor may hit the ram hard but unless i put on 8xaa it doesnt properly tell me stability.

I use it as a weak guide but thats it, i run heaven 2.0 and then battlefield bad company 2 maxed out to see stability.

The reason i say this is because with my 480's i could run kombustor, metro 2033 etc at 840 core and 2k ram all day long but will crash in heaven 2.0 at the dragon. Then i moved down to 825 core and 2k on the ram and could run heaven, metro 2033 and kombustor with 1.12 volts but i crashed and got a driver stopped responding thing when playing battlefield bad company 2.
So now im down to 815 core and 2k ram on both cards and its totally stable in all environments including battlefield bad company 2.
So im happy (wish i could get 840 back) but one of my cards is not a massive overclocker and thats ok as im only running 1.088 volts now too.
Temps were never my issue as i always stayed under 80 degrees.
Anyway long story short kombustor is good for finding a rough area to start at but not the only thing you need to use when overclocking.
I had something similar happen. I could run kombuster @ 860 core but it would crash at the dragon on the uningine bench.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-10, 12:58 PM   #379
odin20
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: way up north
Posts: 259
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

yeah im sure crysis will push the cards harder...thanks
__________________
I7 940-4.2ghz Prime stable 4.0 daily running.
Asus p6t x58
6 gb OCZ gold ddr3 1600
1k Corsair ps
Gs 1000 case
Extreme 120 push/pull config.
2x MSI 480gtx sli- 815-1630-2000 oc on both.
odin20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-10, 03:00 PM   #380
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick123w View Post
I had something similar happen. I could run kombuster @ 860 core but it would crash at the dragon on the uningine bench.
Did you have tessellation on? The dragon is a part of the bench that uses heavy tessellation. If the tessellators are dedicated hardware, it could be why it crashes there, as kombustor doesn't seem to use tessellation so that part of the GPU doesn't get stressed. If you turn off tessellation in the heaven benchmark and see if it doesn't crash again at that spot then you could definitely pinpoint that as the cause.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-10, 04:17 PM   #381
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

crysis is outdated , the reason it will push any card and even later cards is because of the extra large maps and shadowing. i know people make fixes for crysis that will boost your fps alot. and you cant even tell the change, i think it was more Crytecks falt on the heavy fps drop for not optimizing, Crysis2 will run alot better and look better
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 12:19 PM   #382
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Ok, I got my GTX 470, and its working... but...

Why is MSI Afterburner reporting the clocks like this?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image1.jpg
Views:	406
Size:	168.1 KB
ID:	40177  
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 12:27 PM   #383
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

my guess is that you are not using the latest version

last i checked you needed one of the beta afterburner verions to get Fermi support.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-10, 12:28 PM   #384
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Official "I just got a Geforce GTX 470/480" thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Ok, I got my GTX 470, and its working... but...

Why is MSI Afterburner reporting the clocks like this?

Did you get the beta version that supports the 470? Afterburner was doing all kinds of funky stuff for me until I got it.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.