Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-10, 11:35 PM   #13
odror
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Does anyone knows when alsa 1.0.23 backport will be available for ubuntu 10.04
odror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-10, 11:35 AM   #14
primerib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 128
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by zim2dive View Post
Decodes digital audio over coax/SPDIF, but not HDMI.

EDIT: one of those nasty tricks Denon plays... things you don't even know to look for before you buy. But since nvidia didn't have HDMI audio until just recently, it didn't matter. Mobo has digital out.
So you have to run audio cables with every device you use an HDMI cable with? That doesn't sound right. If I were you I would set up alsa to send LPCM for multichannel audio. I can't imagine that wouldn't work.
primerib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-10, 11:35 AM   #15
primerib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 128
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by odror View Post
Does anyone knows when alsa 1.0.23 backport will be available for ubuntu 10.04
The Ubuntu mailing list or emailing the maintainers directly is a better place to ask that kind of question.
primerib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-10, 08:24 PM   #16
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by primerib View Post
So you have to run audio cables with every device you use an HDMI cable with? That doesn't sound right. If I were you I would set up alsa to send LPCM for multichannel audio. I can't imagine that wouldn't work.
Straying way off topic, but yes, there were several Denon AVRs with HDMI that would "repeat" the HDMI audio downstream (ie. to the TV), but could not decode it at the AVR from HDMI. Again, wasn't much of an issue for me until now, when I finally can get HDMI audio from my GT240, previously I only had DVI ports, so that was always a 2-cable solution. Now I don't have to worry about buying a mobo with digital audio.
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-10, 08:30 PM   #17
primerib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 128
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by zim2dive View Post
Straying way off topic, but yes, there were several Denon AVRs with HDMI that would "repeat" the HDMI audio downstream (ie. to the TV), but could not decode it at the AVR from HDMI. Again, wasn't much of an issue for me until now, when I finally can get HDMI audio from my GT240, previously I only had DVI ports, so that was always a 2-cable solution. Now I don't have to worry about buying a mobo with digital audio.
Surprised your receiver doesn't support LPCM but ok. Also, you can do audio over DVI. That's why you see video cards with DVI ports that have SPDIF IN connectors.
primerib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-10, 08:00 AM   #18
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by primerib View Post
Surprised your receiver doesn't support LPCM but ok. Also, you can do audio over DVI. That's why you see video cards with DVI ports that have SPDIF IN connectors.
we're still back to the same problem... AVR *does not* decode hdmi (nor any kind of DVI) audio... really guys, I can point you to the PDF spec sheets).

Again, AVR not decoding is a non-issue.. it was time for an AVR upgrade, it is on order, and when it arrives, I can go from 4 cables (1 HDMI+digital audio each to HTPC and DVR) down to 2 (this model also has HDMI pass-thru so I won't have to turn on the AVR just to use HTPC for surfing). Once it arrives I can verify if the HDMI audio is working. For now I can only say that "aplay -l" suggests that it does, which is a step further than I had been before.
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-10, 12:23 PM   #19
primerib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 128
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Am curious which receiver you own..?
primerib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-10, 12:50 PM   #20
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by primerib View Post
Am curious which receiver you own..?
Denon AVR-689 : http://www.usa.denon.com/ProductDetails/4230.asp

The document you want is the HDMI Specifications Guide .. which curiously is missing from the 689 page, but is linked from the 589 page: http://www.usa.denon.com/AVR_3_Digit..._x89_v0708.pdf

The 589 and 689 do not decode any HDMI audio, only repeat it on HDMI-out.

Denon excels at excluding features you'd never think to check to see if missing. Be amazing to see how product marketing managed to convince engineering this was an acceptable feature compromise.
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-12-10, 07:20 PM   #21
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

New AVR is here... HDMI audio working from DVR... trying to get HDMI audio from my nvidia card.
Code:
>aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
front:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC883 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC883 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC883 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC883 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC883 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC883 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=Intel,DEV=0
    HDA Intel, ALC883 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
hdmi:CARD=NVidia
    HDA NVidia, NVIDIA HDMI
    HDMI Audio Output
>aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC883 Analog [ALC883 Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC883 Digital [ALC883 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Ubuntu 10.04. I finally got speaker-test to work with
Quote:
>speaker-test -c6 -twav -Dplughw:1,7
trying to figure out how to translate that into an .asoundrc file??

(I can play movies in smplayer b/c it has an audio setting)

EDIT: This
Quote:
pcm.!default {
type hw
card 1
device 7
}
gets me sound from Flash inside Firefox.. but I don't have any system sounds from Ubuntu yet...

EDIT2:
working: speaker-test, smplayer, Flash via Firefox
not working: xbmc, Songbird, Rhythmbox, system sounds
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-10, 06:27 PM   #22
paoleary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 37
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by zim2dive View Post
EDIT2:
working: speaker-test, smplayer, Flash via Firefox
not working: xbmc, Songbird, Rhythmbox, system sounds
PulseAudio settings?
paoleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-10, 08:29 PM   #23
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by paoleary View Post
I've set HDMI as the output in both the System Sound panel, and in the Pulseaudio sound settings.

No change in the Works/not-works list

EDIT: I didn't realize that was a link at first.. will try and report back..

EDIT2: Still no joy after editing the pulse file.
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-10, 08:07 AM   #24
paoleary
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 37
Default Re: Enable audio through HDMI on GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by zim2dive View Post
EDIT2: Still no joy after editing the pulse file.
(In case you couldn't tell, I'm down to the shotgun approach here.)

I did have a problem last night with an incorrect ~/.asoundrc which conflicted with the (correct) settings in /etc/asound.conf, preventing snes9x-gtk from outputting audio. I'm using the simple two-line asound.conf on the linked wiki page which sets the default and iec958 devices to the HDMI output of the NVidia card.
paoleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.