Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-21-10, 10:15 PM   #13
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

This is the first I have heard of a Logitech issue with the game, though I always use Razer mice so perhaps that is why.

I was thinking of getting the new Logitech mouse though...
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 01:35 AM   #14
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT.Schaffer View Post
Just bought it
+1

Still have the original 5CDs or whatever it was, but lost the CD-Key.

Been wanting to play it to. Now I can.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 01:38 AM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n View Post
+1 ... Also happens on Saitek and Microsoft keyboards/mice...

When I had a razer mouse (never again) and my old PS/2 logitech keyboard, no problems... Then I got my sidewinder X6 keyboard, the problem came back - 80+ FPS went to a 30-35FPS... Then when I got my MX revolution, the 30-35FPS went to a 15-20FPS.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that Prototype has the same issue, except when the problem is there, the game doesnt use any GPU acceleration at all.
with G9 and G15 my FEAR FPS was cut to 15fps.

never was fixed, so I never tried it later on.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 08:22 AM   #16
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
with G9 and G15 my FEAR FPS was cut to 15fps.

never was fixed, so I never tried it later on.
Bought it before I knew of this issue , as it is a good deal at 10 Bucks and I never played FEAR.

FPS at 16 with G15, after removing G15 FPS at 60 all the time Vsync and Triple Buffering on.

The MX518 with set-point installed and a USB Kensington KB isn't a problem, but the G15 is.

Fun game so far .
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 10:30 AM   #17
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Eh, thanks for letting me know about the bug.

I was wondering why my FPS was lower than I expected

Any workarounds besides removing my mouse/keyboard?

-edit-

OMG, I just threw my Saitek on and took my G-15 off and my FPS went up almost 100% on average.

This has to be the darndest bug I have ever seen. I guess for FEAR, I have to keep playing with my Saitek.

Note, I am still using my G-9. The bug seems to be concentrated on the G-15 keyboard. I wonder if it has anything to do with the lcd and/or profiles? Haven't tried it yet by removing all my G-15 software, but I probably won't do that.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 10:56 AM   #18
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
I wonder if it has anything to do with the lcd and/or profiles? Haven't tried it yet by removing all my G-15 software, but I probably won't do that.
I think I will later today as I miss the back lighting for the keys...I'll post back here after I do .
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 11:37 AM   #19
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Ok, I think I found a fix. Worked for me at least.

http://archive.atomicmpc.com.au/foru...3&c=12&t=13307

I'll sum it up.

Go to Device Manager.

Expand Human Interface Devices.

Go to PROPERTIES for each of these devices and go to the Details Tab. In the Drop Down, select Hardware ID's.

For each Human Interface Device, anything with the following information for Hardware ID (HID\Vid_046d&Pid_c041&), disable that.

Voila.

I had 3 items, I disabled them and went from 100% below the lowest level (20FPS?) to 100% over 60 FPS.

Note, I am playing with all my G-devices currently connected and I ran the benchmark with my Auslogics Defrag running in defrag+optimize mode in the background.

Definitely a nice improvement.

Running 100% maxed @ 1920x1200.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 04:59 PM   #20
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Ok, I think I found a fix. Worked for me at least.

http://archive.atomicmpc.com.au/foru...3&c=12&t=13307

I'll sum it up.

Go to Device Manager.

Expand Human Interface Devices.

Go to PROPERTIES for each of these devices and go to the Details Tab. In the Drop Down, select Hardware ID's.

For each Human Interface Device, anything with the following information for Hardware ID (HID\Vid_046d&Pid_c041&), disable that.

Voila.

I had 3 items, I disabled them and went from 100% below the lowest level (20FPS?) to 100% over 60 FPS.

Note, I am playing with all my G-devices currently connected and I ran the benchmark with my Auslogics Defrag running in defrag+optimize mode in the background.

Definitely a nice improvement.

Running 100% maxed @ 1920x1200.
Thanks for the lead!

For me these were the problem Human Interface Devices -

Device 1 -

HID\VID_0ECD&PID_A100&REV_0928&MI_01
HID\VID_0ECD&PID_A100&MI_01

Device 2 -

HID\VID_046D&PID_C226&REV_0100&MI_01&Col02
HID\VID_046D&PID_C226&MI_01&Col02

With one or the other enabled FPS go down to 35, with both enabled FPS go down to 16.

With these two devices disabled all is fine in FEAR for me running the G15 and MX518.
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-10, 09:03 PM   #21
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Im using a Microsoft Comfort Curve 2K without any issues with the game. I should add I am also using a wireless Logitech Mouse (LX8).
Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
This is the first I have heard of a Logitech issue with the game, though I always use Razer mice so perhaps that is why.

I was thinking of getting the new Logitech mouse though...
Never had the problem with my mamba, but I sold it and picked up another MX revolution and a sidewinder x6 while i was at it... Thats when the problem started for me.

here

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-9740960-1.html

here

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=143151

and here

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=94783
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 09:14 PM   #22
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

I decided to buy it anyway because I never got a chance to play the expansions before... I'll mess around with my HID devices and hopefully find the ones that will remove the problem.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-10, 09:47 PM   #23
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by iron99 View Post
Thanks for the lead!

For me these were the problem Human Interface Devices -

Device 1 -

HID\VID_0ECD&PID_A100&REV_0928&MI_01
HID\VID_0ECD&PID_A100&MI_01

Device 2 -

HID\VID_046D&PID_C226&REV_0100&MI_01&Col02
HID\VID_046D&PID_C226&MI_01&Col02

With one or the other enabled FPS go down to 35, with both enabled FPS go down to 16.

With these two devices disabled all is fine in FEAR for me running the G15 and MX518.
Same fix worked for me, in addition to unplugging my G9 all together. No problems when plugging in the basic MS optical mouse I use with my notebook. As to the link posted to CNET, I don't think this is an issue with PC gaming as a whole because it seems that F.E.A.R. is the only title where this issue rears its head.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-10, 05:20 AM   #24
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Original F.E.A.R. on Steam!

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
Same fix worked for me, in addition to unplugging my G9 all together. No problems when plugging in the basic MS optical mouse I use with my notebook. As to the link posted to CNET, I don't think this is an issue with PC gaming as a whole because it seems that F.E.A.R. is the only title where this issue rears its head.
... And prototype
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.