Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Software Development

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-10, 12:43 PM   #1
Alaa
Peace
 
Alaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cairo
Posts: 431
Default Netbeans + GLUT + Cygwin

I have been working to get them all to work together all day. I was able to get my app to build successfully but it fails to run! I tested it on Visual C++ and it worked but I need it on Netbeans for now. I get this error when I press debug. Any tips?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	1118
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	39999  
Alaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-10, 03:48 PM   #2
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Netbeans + GLUT + Cygwin

Do you need X11?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-10, 09:09 PM   #3
Alaa
Peace
 
Alaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cairo
Posts: 431
Default Re: Netbeans + GLUT + Cygwin

dxdiag says I have DX11. The thing with Visual C++ is that it has been buggy as hell lately for me. I can't create new projects/open others. I really need an alternative.
Alaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-10, 10:05 AM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Netbeans + GLUT + Cygwin

No, X11 is the Linux/GNU window system.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_Window_System

Try installing it in Cygwin (use the install package manager).
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-10, 06:04 PM   #5
Alaa
Peace
 
Alaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cairo
Posts: 431
Default Re: Netbeans + GLUT + Cygwin

Oh, OK! Downloaded everything related to X11 but still getting the same error.
Alaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-10, 08:17 AM   #6
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: Netbeans + GLUT + Cygwin

that's great but have you started the X display system?

typically you can just type 'startx' (I would refer to cygwin documentation though)

If that doesn't work, also ensure the $DISPLAY env variable in cygwin is properly setup, this can be checked using 'echo $DISPLAY'
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-10, 08:19 AM   #7
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: Netbeans + GLUT + Cygwin

... just realized the date. hope you got it working!
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.