Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-01-10, 02:05 AM   #1
Paolo12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

in Nvidia 256.29 beta driver, i have problem with wrong frequences in PowerMixer:



Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (44.3 KB, 80 views)
Paolo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 12:30 PM   #2
danix
NVIDIA Corporation
 
danix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 237
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Hi Paolo, can you be a little bit more specific about what you mean by "wrong frequencies"?

Is your GPU not entering performance levels you're expecting it to? Did the frequencies shown on the PowerMizer page in nvidia-settings change from one version to another?
danix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 03:57 PM   #3
Lemmiwinks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 75
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

I see the same behavior in my nvidia-settings, but with a GF 8600m GT. The frequencies are actually set to the correct value for the graphics card, at least I don't encounter any performance problems. It's just that the wrong values for the respective performance levels are shown in PowerMizer.
In these screenshots i.e.
0: 169 100 Mhz -> correct
1: 475 400 Mhz -> should be level 2,
2: same as level 0, level 1 therefore missing
__________________
GF 8600M GT, core 2 duo 1.8ghz, Ubuntu 12.04, driver 304.37
Lemmiwinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 04:02 PM   #4
Lemmiwinks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 75
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Screenshot of the bug on my computer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-NVIDIA X Server Settings.png
Views:	120
Size:	79.6 KB
ID:	40401  
__________________
GF 8600M GT, core 2 duo 1.8ghz, Ubuntu 12.04, driver 304.37
Lemmiwinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 05:09 PM   #5
NiLuJe
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Huh. Never noticed that. Same here (8600M GT too).

The frequencies seems to be set to the correct values, but the table of values is slightly messed up. Check the 3 attached snapshots, going from perf level 2 to 0.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nvidia-settings-256.29-pl2.png
Views:	105
Size:	79.5 KB
ID:	40402  Click image for larger version

Name:	nvidia-settings-256.29-pl1.png
Views:	94
Size:	80.0 KB
ID:	40403  Click image for larger version

Name:	nvidia-settings-256.29-pl0.png
Views:	97
Size:	79.5 KB
ID:	40404  
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 06:35 PM   #6
danix
NVIDIA Corporation
 
danix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 237
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Thanks for the screenshots, Lemmiwinks and NiLuJe. Were your PowerMizer frequencies listed correctly in older driver versions? Were you affected by the bug which prevented PowerMizer from entering higher performance levels, or was this working correctly on your laptops?
danix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 07:16 PM   #7
mooninite
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 477
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Quote:
Originally Posted by danix View Post
Thanks for the screenshots, Lemmiwinks and NiLuJe. Were your PowerMizer frequencies listed correctly in older driver versions? Were you affected by the bug which prevented PowerMizer from entering higher performance levels, or was this working correctly on your laptops?
I'm also seeing this nvidia-settings issue with my 9650M GT. Worked fine on 19x.xx and lower drivers. I've never experienced PowerMizer issues.
mooninite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-10, 09:10 PM   #8
NiLuJe
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

I don't think I've ever had PowerMizer issues either, as for the frequency listing, I can't really say, I never paid it that much attention until this post.
NiLuJe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-10, 09:47 PM   #9
brucecadieux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

I am also seeing this with 330m gt
brucecadieux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-10, 12:23 AM   #10
BenjaminD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Same problem with a 9800GTS in a Clevo laptop. My frequencies were correctly listed with previous drivers.
BenjaminD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-10, 02:18 AM   #11
gradinaruvasile
Registered User
 
gradinaruvasile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 199
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Same here with an ASUS Gf 210 (desktop PCIEx card). It has 3 performance levels:

NV clock/Memory clock

1. 135/135
2. 405/324
3. 589/400

In the 256.25/29 drivers the first time i checked it seemed to be correct (but to be honest i didnt check throughly when i started nvidia-settings) if the lowest performance level is used (1), but if it throttles up to level 3 and back down, the level 2 speed becomes the same as level 3 or they change place as shown in the Lemmiwinks images.

In 195.36.24 the frequencies are shown correctly. I switched back to this driver until the problem is solved.
I hope this is only a cosmetic bug.
gradinaruvasile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-10, 05:50 AM   #12
Lemmiwinks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 75
Default Re: 256.29 bug in PowerMixer

Everything worked fine with versions prior to 256.xx
I guess PowerMizer can enter higher performance levels, but I did not check this with a benchmark or any other graphics performance hungry application..
__________________
GF 8600M GT, core 2 duo 1.8ghz, Ubuntu 12.04, driver 304.37
Lemmiwinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.