Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-10, 07:59 PM   #1
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

HA Velvet!

http://news.bigdownload.com/2010/06/...se-steamworks/

Quote:
As confirmed by a Bethesda Softworks rep in a fan Q&A posted on the Fallout message boards, Fallout New Vegas in its PC incarnation will use Valve's Steamworks tools when its released. That will likely include using Steam to auto-update the game as well as providing for any future downloadable content packs
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-10, 08:00 PM   #2
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

God dammit.

Why do you say HA? Why is more DRM a good thing? I don't get it. It's not even multiplayer.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-10, 08:05 PM   #3
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
God dammit.

Why do you say HA? Why is more DRM a good thing? I don't get it. It's not even multiplayer.
Because steam is awesome! I will probably play it off steam anyway (like I do with Oblivion and Fallout 3).

EDIT: And with Steamworks I don't have to deal with the BS GFWL DLC crap again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-10, 08:18 PM   #4
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

You didn't have to with FO3 either, the DLC was DRM-free as well.

The long and short of it is we went from DRM-free to online authentication and account-based DRM. I don't care if you like it, that sucks and is a bad sign for the future of PC DRM.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-10, 09:41 PM   #5
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Yay... but isn't Obsidian involved in this game? Uhh... very scared of that.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-10, 09:48 PM   #6
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Hmmm....wonder how this will affect the mod community?
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-10, 09:57 PM   #7
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroy View Post
Hmmm....wonder how this will affect the mod community?
Not at all I would guess, the mods and mod tools work fine with Fallout 3 on Steam. The official FAQ says New Vegas will have the same mod tools too.

I was kind of hoping this would work like Rogue Warrior, where you could have an offline install without the Steamworks features, but the official New Vegas FAQ now says Steam activation will be mandatory.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-10, 10:14 PM   #8
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Not at all I would guess, the mods and mod tools work fine with Fallout 3 on Steam. The official FAQ says New Vegas will have the same mod tools too.

I was kind of hoping this would work like Rogue Warrior, where you could have an offline install without the Steamworks features, but the official New Vegas FAQ now says Steam activation will be mandatory.
Well that's good to know. I could not tolerate playing FO3 if I didn't have my PC adjusted menus/inventory/HUD/FOV/high res textures/etc..
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-09-10, 12:56 AM   #9
autobot
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Portland, OR.
Posts: 254
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
....and with Steamworks I don't have to deal with the BS GFWL DLC crap again.
Nope, you just have to deal with the random Steam connection issues. Or shall I say, the inability to log onto Steam because their servers are too busy. I run into this about once every 3 or 4 days.
__________________
[CENTER]- [B][COLOR="Red"]autobot[/COLOR][/B] -
Intel Q9400 [I](3.6Ghz OC)[/I]
Asus P5Q Deluxe / 8GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800
MSI 6970 Afterburner 2GB / Asus Xonar DX
Crucial M4 128GB SSD / Seagate 640GB
Lite-On DVD/RW w/ Lightscribe
XFX XXX-Edition 650W PSU
[COLOR="Red"]Enzotech / Swiftech / Koolance[/COLOR][/CENTER]
autobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-10, 02:33 AM   #10
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Quote:
Originally Posted by autobot View Post
Nope, you just have to deal with the random Steam connection issues. Or shall I say, the inability to log onto Steam because their servers are too busy. I run into this about once every 3 or 4 days.
Get a better connection.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-10, 04:49 AM   #11
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

I have a rock solid connection. Problem is when the Steam server get really really busy, I can't play. FU STEam!

Granted this only happened once, a few days back, when Slinter Cell was 50% off AND Alpha Protocol launched. ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-10, 04:53 AM   #12
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout Vegas is Steamworks

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
I have a rock solid connection. Problem is when the Steam server get really really busy, I can't play. FU STEam!

Granted this only happened once, a few days back, when Slinter Cell was 50% off AND Alpha Protocol launched. ::
It's happened to me a few times... not common, but it happens. Steam as a program ain't bad, sometimes I leave it on simply as a chat program for days at a time.

My issues with Steamworks are much more rooted in principle over how we purchase and own software than anything with the program itself. I just don't like asking a company for permission to use something I bought... imagine if a DVD made you do that, or even a console game. It's coming to these other mediums, more popular mediums than PC games, and I look forward to finally seeing a revolt when it does.

Or not
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.