Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-10, 09:04 AM   #13
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Hasn't this already been attributed to PB and how it scans? If you disable PB it makes all the difference in the world. See Captnkill's post on the hitch problem.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 11:05 AM   #14
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

That was in the COD4 thread I had started. You're thinking of another problem and another thread.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 11:44 AM   #15
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,062
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
That was in the COD4 thread I had started. You're thinking of another problem and another thread.

Oh ya thats right but we did discuss that it is most likely the issue with BFBC2 but there is no console to make changes to rectify the problem.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 12:57 PM   #16
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
I find it funny how the nvidia only guys claim its so smooth. Coming from an HD5870 I think Smee and I are in agreement that no matter how smooth the GTX 480 plays it, the HD5870 played it much better. Thats the only game I really miss my HD5870 for though. The HD5870 was just alot smoother than the GTX 480 in BF BC2 even with 275.15.
Well, the ultimate proof is easy, When I loaded a new map with the 5870, the countdown timer would be at 21 seconds or so.. Same exact rig with the 480 and 275.15 loaded, my countdown timer is at 10-11 seconds by the time I'm in.
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 01:19 PM   #17
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smee View Post
Well, the ultimate proof is easy, When I loaded a new map with the 5870, the countdown timer would be at 21 seconds or so.. Same exact rig with the 480 and 275.15 loaded, my countdown timer is at 10-11 seconds by the time I'm in.
mailman is talking about something else, his imaginary "smoothness", not load times
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 01:28 PM   #18
Maverick123w
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Maverick123w
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

I don't see how the game could run any smoother for me to be honest. I even turned off aa completely and saw no difference.
Maverick123w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 02:21 PM   #19
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

OMG the heat!!! It's 68 degrees here today and my office feels like a sauna.

WTF have I done??

/looks for receipt
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 02:27 PM   #20
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

68 degrees what?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-10, 02:32 PM   #21
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
68 degrees what?
WTF? I'm in the US as you are, celsius obviously.
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 02:47 PM   #22
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smee View Post
OMG the heat!!! It's 68 degrees here today and my office feels like a sauna.

WTF have I done??

/looks for receipt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smee View Post
WTF? I'm in the US as you are, celsius obviously.
based on your post, its 154f in your office.

because if it was 68f in your office, why are you bitchin?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 02:47 PM   #23
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smee View Post
WTF? I'm in the US as you are, celsius obviously.
No...You were supposed to say "68 degrees, sir!"
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 03:01 PM   #24
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscipleDOC View Post
No...You were supposed to say "68 degrees, sir!"
The sarcasm monster doesn't approve of either of you.

It's 68 degree's outside.. approaching 77 degree's in my office after gaming for a few hours.

My Master bedroom (2 doors down) has it's own thermostat.. it says 70.
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.