Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-10, 02:03 PM   #25
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

maybe you should write complete and understandable post.

i still see an issue, for my 480 runs cooler then my 280, and that is a good thing.

btw, a bedroom with no electronics running is cooler then a room with bunch of electronic devices, holly ****, who would have thunked that.














btw, that spelling mistake in on purpose
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 02:18 PM   #26
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
maybe you should write complete and understandable post.

i still see an issue, for my 480 runs cooler then my 280, and that is a good thing.

btw, a bedroom with no electronics running is cooler then a room with bunch of electronic devices, holly ****, who would have thunked that.







btw, that spelling mistake in on purpose
You ASSume there are no electronics in other room I suppose?

OH SNAP!
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 02:44 PM   #27
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

since you said bedroom, battery powered devices don't count
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 03:25 PM   #28
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smee View Post
Well, the ultimate proof is easy, When I loaded a new map with the 5870, the countdown timer would be at 21 seconds or so.. Same exact rig with the 480 and 275.15 loaded, my countdown timer is at 10-11 seconds by the time I'm in.
So at this point the HD5870 was still faster loading the maps then?

With the beta 275.15 do you still find the HD5870 was smoother in BF BC2? (cause I got rid of my HD5870 2 nvidia driver releases ago.)

*Ignore Nekro. If he likes something he will go to hell and back to defend it and it also usually means he has no experience with the "other" product.*
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 04:06 PM   #29
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
So at this point the HD5870 was still faster loading the maps then?

With the beta 275.15 do you still find the HD5870 was smoother in BF BC2? (cause I got rid of my HD5870 2 nvidia driver releases ago.)

*Ignore Nekro. If he likes something he will go to hell and back to defend it and it also usually means he has no experience with the "other" product.*
Yeah, even with the 275.15, I like BFBC2 with the 5870 much better.
Haven't played anything else yet really, may fire up Company of Heroes a little later.
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 04:43 PM   #30
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post

*Ignore Nekro. If he likes something he will go to hell and back to defend it and it also usually means he has no experience with the "other" product.*
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 04:55 PM   #31
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Well, I can tell you that my NVIDIA machine stomps all over my ATI machine when playing BFBC2 on the same settings, but thats probably because I'm running my GTX 480s in SLI vs the single 5870 on my other computer. Although with the new 256 drivers I'm finally seeing the NVIDIA machine load maps faster than the ATI machine.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 05:40 PM   #32
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
Well, I can tell you that my NVIDIA machine stomps all over my ATI machine when playing BFBC2 on the same settings, but thats probably because I'm running my GTX 480s in SLI vs the single 5870 on my other computer. Although with the new 256 drivers I'm finally seeing the NVIDIA machine load maps faster than the ATI machine.
LOL well obviously it going to. $1000 in GPUs vs one $380 GPU.

Also, we aren't taking raw performance here either. We are referring to the smoothness. The GTX 480 is without a doubt faster (confirmed with fraps) but its not as smooth as the HD5870 in BF BC2.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-10, 06:35 PM   #33
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
I find it funny how the nvidia only guys claim its so smooth. Coming from an HD5870 I think Smee and I are in agreement that no matter how smooth the GTX 480 plays it, the HD5870 played it much better. Thats the only game I really miss my HD5870 for though. The HD5870 was just alot smoother than the GTX 480 in BF BC2 even with 275.15.
Well I can't comment on the 5870 as I never had one to begin with or even compare for that matter. What I will say is that my 480's play battlefield as smooth as any other game I have. It plays perfectly fine for me anyway.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 11:41 PM   #34
Slytat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

I can comment as I've owned both (in CF and SLI).

They both play the game well. The loading times as of 257.xx are almost instantaneous and there is no stuttering whatsoever.

BC2 isn't a game that taxes a modern PC tbh (unless you play at some ridiculous res/AA level). If it isn't running well on a 480, there is likely a problem with your setup, PB or whatever.

Mailman, if you're not happy with the 480, why not just go back to the 5870 or buy a 2 GB version. It's never a good idea to keep something you aren't happy with.
Slytat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-10, 12:01 AM   #35
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slytat View Post
Mailman, if you're not happy with the 480, why not just go back to the 5870 or buy a 2 GB version. It's never a good idea to keep something you aren't happy with.

Well 1. I'm waiting for the new patch from DICE. According to some Nvidia owners the latest patch hosed nvidia cards performance a lot. ( I dunno I had my HD5870 at the time) 2. waiting for Nvidia drivers to mature, I know ATI had 6-7 lead time but thats Nvidia's own fault. Hoping they can sort things with their drivers soon.

I may grab a 2GB card and just water cool it again. My last one was doing 1Ghz core, I'm sure I can sell this for a good amount still. I'm torn between waiting and going back right now for the reasons I mentioned above. IMO the GTX 480 has more potential than a HD5870 at this time. Will it be unlocked? Time will tell.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-10, 12:07 AM   #36
Slytat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default Re: Replaced my 5870 with a 480. WTF LOAD TIMES?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Well 1. I'm waiting for the new patch from DICE. According to some Nvidia owners the latest patch hosed nvidia cards performance a lot. ( I dunno I had my HD5870 at the time) 2. waiting for Nvidia drivers to mature, I know ATI had 6-7 lead time but thats Nvidia's own fault. Hoping they can sort things with their drivers soon.

I may grab a 2GB card and just water cool it again. My last one was doing 1Ghz core, I'm sure I can sell this for a good amount still. I'm torn between waiting and going back right now for the reasons I mentioned above. IMO the GTX 480 has more potential than a HD5870 at this time. Will it be unlocked? Time will tell.
I much prefer the 480s and find them to be faster across the board (No issues with regards to smoothness either).

I played BC2 SP for a little while this morning and it was running perfectly (257.29 Beta).
Slytat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.