Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-10, 03:01 PM   #13
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Are you guys serious?
^ this

I mean.... wtf???

I wanna see some technical data on what effect this has, just for a laugh.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-10, 04:12 PM   #14
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

http://www.evga.com/articles/00556/

Quote:
Originally Posted by eVGA
  • You are responsible for shipping and handling charges of $4.95 USD, whether 1 or more brackets.
  • Brackets through this promotion are free of charge.
The bracket didn't cost hardly anything to make (maybe $.10) However, they're charging $5 for shipping?!?!? They're charging $5 to stick it in a standard padded USPS envelope that costs about $1 to ship anywhere in the US?

eVGA is profiting from this. $4 worth of profit from anyone gullible enough to fall for it.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-10, 04:41 PM   #15
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
^ this

I mean.... wtf???

I wanna see some technical data on what effect this has, just for a laugh.
+1



So what ever happened to DIY anyway. 10 seconds with a dremel and I can do the same thing...

If you really wanted to be hardcore then why don't you just take the damn bracket off completely.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-10, 04:43 PM   #16
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
wonder what kind of a difference it makes. probably 1-2 degrees....
They claimed up to 7c on the EVGA forums. I just don't see the point really. My 470 rarely goes over 70c as it is, with the fan using the driver's default profile.

If I want a real, bolt on air cooling upgrade I'll buy one of these.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-10, 04:48 PM   #17
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
They claimed up to 7c on the EVGA forums. I just don't see the point really. My 470 rarely goes over 70c as it is, with the fan using the driver's default profile.

If I want a real, bolt on air cooling upgrade I'll buy one of these.


Yea I bet... Good thing there isn't a big array of fins before it slowing down the airflow...
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-10, 05:06 PM   #18
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post


Yea I bet... Good thing there isn't a big array of fins before it slowing down the airflow...
Huge fin arrays look very cool - don't be a hater.




  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-10, 05:21 PM   #19
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
+1



So what ever happened to DIY anyway. 10 seconds with a dremel and I can do the same thing...

If you really wanted to be hardcore then why don't you just take the damn bracket off completely.
Because a dremel will void the warranty while this one won't. EVGA is pretty good about letting you do stuff like change the thermal paste and any third party mods. But if you need to RMA the card for any reason you have to put it back as close to factory as it came with no physical damage caused by you. Until EVGA says the warranty is valid after adjusting the back plate with a dremel, I wouldn't do it.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-10, 06:19 PM   #20
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
They claimed up to 7c on the EVGA forums. I just don't see the point really. My 470 rarely goes over 70c as it is, with the fan using the driver's default profile.

If I want a real, bolt on air cooling upgrade I'll buy one of these.
Um they don't sell them for Nvidia 400 series cards........
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-10, 06:41 PM   #21
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eltigre88 View Post
Um they don't sell them for Nvidia 400 series cards........
http://www.nordichardware.com/news/6...e-gtx-480.html

They fit, and will be marketed soon.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-10, 10:36 PM   #22
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

Well, it's available now for purchase at EVGA store for people that don't own EVGA brand 400 series cards, and guss how much they charge for the bracket? US$9.99, LOL:
http://www.evga.com/products/moreInf...M020-00-000171
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 10:38 AM   #23
HYBRID
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 495
Default Re: If you own an EVGA 470, and want a high flow bracket...

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...review-15.html

This also includes the backplate as an FYI.

To us, EVGA has more than accomplished what they set out to do with this card and while the temperature changes don’t quite hit that claimed 7 degree mark, they are pretty darn close. These aren’t the most optimal conditions since the Gigabyte Aurora isn’t exactly what we would call a modern case but in the coming weeks we intend to redo all of our GPU temperature testing in a more suitable enclosure.
__________________
[Asus Extreme Rampage III| Asus GTX580 Matrix |Intel I7 950 @ 4.011GHZ vcore 1.275| Corsair H80 Liquid Cooler| Intel SSD 80GB & 1 150 GIG Raptor|Corsair Dominator GT CMG6GX3M3A1600C7 | Asus Essence STX|Plextor PX-880SA|Asus BluRay Drive |Cosair HX-850HX| Corsair Obsidian 800D ||Win 7 RTM 64-Bit OEM|Samsung T-240 24" 1920X1200 5MS

Last edited by HYBRID; 06-24-10 at 12:09 PM. Reason: ADDED
HYBRID is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.