Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-10, 07:09 AM   #37
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
Why do you keep doing this?

I Googled "Assassin's Creed 2 480 5870" to see what others (besides me) were seeing as far gameplay experiences and the third freaking link has you saying just the opposite of what you said in this post.



It's pretty hilarious that no one else seems to have the issues you are having with the 480, and no one else has a problem keeping their story straight except you.
it just proves that he is full of ****, hopefully more people won't get tricked by it
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 08:17 AM   #38
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
Why do you keep doing this?

I Googled "Assassin's Creed 2 480 5870" to see what others (besides me) were seeing as far gameplay experiences and the third freaking link has you saying just the opposite of what you said in this post.

It's pretty hilarious that no one else seems to have the issues you are having with the 480, and no one else has a problem keeping their story straight except you.

BF BC2 - runs amazing.
COD MW2 MP was very fast, a lot faster than HD5870
Assassin's Creed 2 - runs freaking awesome, much smoother than 5870
Assassin's Creed II is smoother and benchmarked just as fast.

The MW2 and BFBC2 stuff has been beaten to death so we'll just talk about AC2 this time. How the hell is AC2 running smoother on the 5870, when in a previous post you claimed that it was much smoother on the 480?

If you are going to keep this 5870 is smoother crusade going you might wanna brush up on your past post history so you don't keep contradicting yourself. Your credibility is in the toilet at this point when it comes to either card.
The HD5870 has had two driver releases since I last owned one. The GTX 480 actually gets more FPS in some of these games, but its the smoothness I'm after now . When I first popped in the in GTX 480 I was just looking at the FPS using fraps after the excitment wore off and I began gaming with it did I notice the hitch. RF:G still runs faster and smoother on the GTX 480. AC 2 had a micro stutter on the 480 that I didn't notice right away, like I said at first I just fired it up with Fraps and went purely on the FPS, not the actual gameplay smoothness. Splinter Cell Conviction is another game that the GTX 480 is faster in but has that hitch once in awhile that drives me nuts. Even with the hitch the GTX 480 runs SC:C smoother. The only crusade I'm on is to have the smoother card in my machine, even if its not the faster one. What really ticks me off is how so few people are annoyed with things like little hitches, while they are just game breakers to me. Some people are more sensitive to things like this and notice them more. I may just RMA my GTX 480 for another one to see if the card is defective.

Unless the 257 drivers have just made things get worse, I'll go back and retest with GTX 480 with the earlier drivers. Now that I have both cards here I can easily retest things.

Also, I fired up COD4 MP with the 5870 and with punkbuster enabled and I don't get the heartbeat stutter for the first minute or so that the GTX 480 did. I had to disable PB to avoid that.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 08:42 AM   #39
Slytat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
The HD5870 has had two driver releases since I last owned one. The GTX 480 actually gets more FPS in some of these games, but its the smoothness I'm after now . When I first popped in the in GTX 480 I was just looking at the FPS using fraps after the excitment wore off and I began gaming with it did I notice the hitch. RF:G still runs faster and smoother on the GTX 480. AC 2 had a micro stutter on the 480 that I didn't notice right away, like I said at first I just fired it up with Fraps and went purely on the FPS, not the actual gameplay smoothness. Splinter Cell Conviction is another game that the GTX 480 is faster in but has that hitch once in awhile that drives me nuts. Even with the hitch the GTX 480 runs SC:C smoother. The only crusade I'm on is to have the smoother card in my machine, even if its not the faster one. What really ticks me off is how so few people are annoyed with things like little hitches, while they are just game breakers to me. Some people are more sensitive to things like this and notice them more. I may just RMA my GTX 480 for another one to see if the card is defective.

Unless the 257 drivers have just made things get worse, I'll go back and retest with GTX 480 with the earlier drivers. Now that I have both cards here I can easily retest things.

Also, I fired up COD4 MP with the 5870 and with punkbuster enabled and I don't get the heartbeat stutter for the first minute or so that the GTX 480 did. I had to disable PB to avoid that.
If I saw any hitching/stuttering in these games it would annoy me. I don't so it doesn't. You're on a crusade to try and make out that there is some universal stuttering/hitching problem on the 480. As I said before, it's either a defective card or something wrong with your system (have you checked your DPC latency lately)?
Slytat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 09:03 AM   #40
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

haha well also back with the HD5870 is the GSOD. Just got one.

How do I check DPC latency Slytat??
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 09:05 AM   #41
Slytat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
haha well also back with the HD5870 is the GSOD. Just got one.

How do I check DPC latency Slytat??
http://www.thesycon.de/dpclat/dpclat.exe

Let it run for a few mins and see if you are getting spikes (they cause stuttering).
Slytat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 09:24 AM   #42
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slytat View Post
http://www.thesycon.de/dpclat/dpclat.exe

Let it run for a few mins and see if you are getting spikes (they cause stuttering).
Thanks for the suggestion, I wish that were it.

__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 09:26 AM   #43
Slytat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 354
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Yah, you can't do better than that
Slytat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 09:33 AM   #44
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slytat View Post
Yah, you can't do better than that
Nothing runs in the background. I run Malwarebytes, and when I need AV I install MS essentials, scan then uninstall so there is absolutely nothing loading in MSCONFIG/Startup. When I'm OC'ing my GPU I use afterburner, but even that isnt installed right now.

I'm just wondering if the nvidia drivers are conflicting with either my X-Fi Ti (PCI-e) or onboard nic (yukon marvell), thats really all there is left/
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-24-10, 10:32 PM   #45
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
It certainly is odd the issues you are having with your 480. Maybe the card itself is defective. Bad Company for me is very smooth at maxed settings.
Same here, I just played a few rounds of BC2 last night, smooth as silk at maxed out settings. I'm sure the 5870s have higher FPS since the game clearly favors AMD, but still, 480s are smooth, no question about that.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-10, 10:47 PM   #46
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro View Post
Same here, I just played a few rounds of BC2 last night, smooth as silk at maxed out settings. I'm sure the 5870s have higher FPS since the game clearly favors AMD, but still, 480s are smooth, no question about that.
So are you guys forcing DX11 in Settings.ini or do you have it on AUTO?

DX10 runs smooth for me, DX11 still hitches though. But I am setting 10 or 11 in the settings.ini. I'm not even sure which is being used with the setting left on AUTO in the ini. I'm wondering if on AUTO its using DX10 which is smooth.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-10, 01:36 AM   #47
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
So are you guys forcing DX11 in Settings.ini or do you have it on AUTO?

DX10 runs smooth for me, DX11 still hitches though. But I am setting 10 or 11 in the settings.ini. I'm not even sure which is being used with the setting left on AUTO in the ini. I'm wondering if on AUTO its using DX10 which is smooth.
I'm forcing it in the ini setting and overclocking the cards with MSI fterburner.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-10, 09:07 AM   #48
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Is there a really big difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuro View Post
Same here, I just played a few rounds of BC2 last night, smooth as silk at maxed out settings. I'm sure the 5870s have higher FPS since the game clearly favors AMD, but still, 480s are smooth, no question about that.
someone on the nvidia forums with the same thing described it saying "its like every 3 seconds someone quickly hits pause." Thats exactly what I see.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.